Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I have made this many ,many times and still my favorite I use self rising flour instead. I removed the baking powder and soda, salt. Added a stick of butter instead of the oil. Used the dark cocoa. Topped it with vanilla icing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this for our Halloween get-together last night. My husband is VERY picky about cake and his response was: "This is what cake should taste like. I will judge all others against this one." My mother-in-law has been making a Devil's Food Cake for my father-in-law's birthday every year for decades, and she suggested I make this one in the future. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
By far THE BEST cake I have ever tasted in my life. Topped mine with a dusting of powdered sugar. Instead of dusting the pan with flour I used cocoa powder since I had it out. Baked mine for 33 minutes. Next time will top it with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting recipe found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a recipe that i have used over and over for the last two years thought that it was about time I posted a review. It is incredibly moist cake that is a treat with either whipped cream or ice cream. The kids love it. I do agree with some of the reviews posted before than it is an incredibly sweet cake so I switched to brown cane sugar instead of whit and I have been measuring it to a little under a cup measurement so that it is not quite 2 cups of sugar. Also because I don't want it too become bitter especially for the kids I make a more of a weak to medium strength cup of coffee. however the first few times I followed the recipe exactly and made changes as i went along, its a foolproof recipe that works every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
my cake fell a bit after baking but was sort of like a fudgey brownie... which no one minded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Ok this is my second review of this cake. The first time I gave it 5stars because I added chocolate chips and used a bundt pan. I thought that because I had added the chips that those sank the bottom of the pan causing the lower half of the cake to stick and not come out of the pan clean. Otherwise it was excellent. Well, I made it again and followed the recipe exactly. I used a cupcake tin this time and sprayed the tin generously instead of using liners. Not one cupcake came out without crumbling in half. Hmmmmm....apparently it wasn't my chocolate chips last time that made it stick to the pan. This recipe just crumbled both times. I LOVE the flavor of this cake, so any suggestions on what I can do to make this not crumble and get it out of the pan would be welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is my "GO TO" chocolate cake from now on; simple and SO moist and delicious! I filled it with a whipped cream chocolate frosting and then covered the outside with chocolate ganache! SO GOOD! My husband requested something chocolately for his birthday cake this year and this is truly worthy of a celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heyhae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I've made this cake several times now. The first time I made it, I didn't make any modifications, but the second and third times, I added one small packet of Cook and Serve Chocolate Pudding mix to the batter. Cake is awesome with or without the modification tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvieD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I bake ALOT!! and this recipe has never failed me! so very moist and chocolaty! i usually use this recipe when making my oreo cake! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Black Magic Cake fanatastic WOW love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States