Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
OMG! The best chocolate cake ever!! Moist heavenly deliciousness to put it simply. The 9" cake was devoured by my family of 7 within minutes. I made my own buttermilk by adding vinegar to whole milk. The batter was thin but the cake was perfectly baked in 30 mins. Keep an eye because any more than just baked would compromise the moistness (OMG!!) of the cake.I kept it for a day in the fridge, covered and I thought the chocolate flavor became deeper the next day (tasted crumbs!!). Topped it with a lovely condensed milk ganache from another website. Got rave reviews from the family. My go to chocolate cake from now on...and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! I questioned the coffee. I added three tablespoons of instant coffee to a measuring cup, then filled it with water to the correct amount. It came out wonderful. I thought the coffee might have been too much, but it was perfect. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I accidentally left out the vanilla and this cake still turned out magnificently! It was moist and rich but not too sweet. I made a layer cake with whipped ganache frosting and a raspberry filling and my coworkers were raving about it. This is definitely a keeper. It was a little difficult to frost because it was so sticky and a little crumbly, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaonastick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Not chocolatey. Dry. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made my own buttermilk by sitting 1 cup soymilk and 1 T vinegar for about 10 minutes. 'Baked for the complete 40 minutes. I made this for a group of grown boys who love dessert and they just couldn't stop raving about how moist and perfect the cake turned out. We ate the cake plain with ice-cream. The next day the cake is just as moist and delicious. It has brought me back to my childhood devil's food cake-out-of-a-box eating days. Well, those days are over and they are better now! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yup, this cake is the bomb! Cakes have never been my specialty, but this one is so easy to throw together and is it moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever. I used almond cake filling and buttercream frosting. So yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I expected it to be sweeter, but instead I found it to be fairly bitter. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValerieAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is an excellent, super-moist, coffee-ish chocolate cake. I made a simple topping for it by combining honey, Redi-whip, and cinnamon and spooning it over individual portions. Don't overdo the honey or cinnamon; you want to complement the cake's flavor, not overwhelm or mask it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Danger! Danger! This recipe is awesome, the best chocolate cake I've ever made from scratch! I did not have buttermilk, so I looked on a site for the substitute and it said to use 3/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup water to equal 1 cup of buttermilk (this is the only way I'll make it since I ALWAYS have sour cream on hand and I never have buttermilk!,) this cake is to die for, even without frosting. ,I have tried several chocolate cake recipes, but they always turned out dry. This is a perfectly moist cake recipe. I also brewed 1 cup of Gloria Jean's Hazelnut coffee and it was strong enough for me since I am also going to use a coffee frosting to make cake balls :-) UPDATE 9/13/14: I used this recipe for coconut poke cake and it was awesome!! After I baked the Black Magic Cake I poked holes in the cake with a chopstick while cake was still hot, then poured a can of cream of coconut over it. After the cake cooled I refrigerated it. Right before serving I frosted it with whip cream and topped with flaked coconut.YUM!! Thanx for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States