Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Easy, moist and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I live at a very high altitude and overdid the liquids the first time and it was more brownie like, but second time I made it, it turned out fantastic! fluffy and moist, very chocolatey! :) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Made 26 cupcakes, baked 18 minutes at 350. Nice flavor. A big hit with my group. Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I have been making this recipe for the last 50 years. Has always been the best chocolate I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Please help! I have baked this cake twice and both times it has sunk in the middle, like a crater on the moon. I follow the recipe "to the letter" and after my first tragic failed attempt which I blamed on opening the oven door, I didn't even go in the same room while it is cooking. I love the taste of this cake and it is so easy to bake, what is happening? Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made this cake as instructed and found it absolutely AMAZING! The only thing I didn't like was the extreme rising of the middle. The second time I made it was in a 9x13 glass pan and I lowered to temp to 325. That time it took longer to bake, however there was no crowning and it came out more like brownies, which was fine for all of us. I think I prefer the chewy brownie like texture over the moist cake I had the first time. It was much easier to eat and didn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punky Dolphine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, California, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Hands down the best cake I have ever had! I made it exactly as written and baked in a 9x13 pan. 40 mins in the oven and it was done perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori in Detroit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
The very best chocolate cake I have ever made. I consider myself a very experienced baker with a treasure chest of old-world, family recipes, as well as some very good chocolate cakes from various cook books, specialty cake books, pastry chefs, etc. Nothing came close to this. I made it for a dinner party and topped the cake with a French mousseline frosting. Unbelievable. I could have eaten it just as well plain. Every single guest said it was the best cake they had ever tasted, and each had a second piece. My spouse, who is not one for sweets, polished it off the next day and said that, by far, this was the best chocolate cake I've made in the 28 years we've been together. Thank you so much for contributing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake recipe I have ever tried. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States