Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
best cake ever...I will never use another cake recipe. it was amazingly moist.I used the chocolate fudge buttercrem for frosting.it's a home run.my family said it was the best cake ever made.I did not alter anything.you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Very dark, very moist, very chocolatey and very very delicious. Didn't change a thing. Made two round pans, greased with butter and cocoa, and then lined with parchment paper. Cakes came out of pans like a dream. Frosted with German frosting, and got rave reviews. This is my new chocolate cake recipe. Absolutely wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate DeDo
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
such a dence and moist cake. love love love it. definitely sift all the dry ingredients at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate DeDo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My husband isn't a chocolate lover as I am, but he loved it. I however, wasn't real impressed. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
We have been making this recipe since I was a kid. It is the best chocolate cake! My mom always made it with vanilla icing and chocolate sprinkles. This is the same recipe that we always used, no changes. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Nice, moist, dark and very quick to put together. I have a few chocolate cakes that I like as much or more taste-wise, but this one is so simple it can be thrown together while fixing dinner. I cool it for 30 minutes, put in the freezer for 15, and it's cool enough to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I love this cake!!!! super moist and chocolateyyy. best chocolate came ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this cake for the first time a couple of days ago. I was a little concerned about the thinness of the batter but it baked perfectly. It was moist, delicious, and oh so chocolaty. The recipe was so simple with common pantry ingredients. It is the only chocolate cake recipe I will ever need. I can't wait to try it again with some of the frostings, fillings and liquers from other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Me and my husband absolutely ADORE this cake. It's moist, rich, chocolate-y, and the BEST chocolate cake. A simple vanilla cream cheese frosting is all it needs. We drank a cup of black coffee with it after dinner. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this a few months ago now, but I bought it to a party and made a big impression, my aunty said something like "you could win any girls heart with this cake". The coffee flavor is subtle. I like to take out 25grams of flour and replace it with cornflour/cornstarch. This lowers the protein content and makes the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States