Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I love this cake!!!! super moist and chocolateyyy. best chocolate came ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this cake for the first time a couple of days ago. I was a little concerned about the thinness of the batter but it baked perfectly. It was moist, delicious, and oh so chocolaty. The recipe was so simple with common pantry ingredients. It is the only chocolate cake recipe I will ever need. I can't wait to try it again with some of the frostings, fillings and liquers from other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Me and my husband absolutely ADORE this cake. It's moist, rich, chocolate-y, and the BEST chocolate cake. A simple vanilla cream cheese frosting is all it needs. We drank a cup of black coffee with it after dinner. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this a few months ago now, but I bought it to a party and made a big impression, my aunty said something like "you could win any girls heart with this cake". The coffee flavor is subtle. I like to take out 25grams of flour and replace it with cornflour/cornstarch. This lowers the protein content and makes the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made these for my sons' birthday parties back in the 80's using the Hersey cocoa box recipe. I made cupcakes with paper liners so there was no problem with sticking (bake 20-25 minutes). I used a cream cheese and butter frosting. I used powdered espresso to easily make the strong coffee. I used a cup of milk with a tablespoon of white vinegar (let sit for 5 minutes) as a substitute for buttermilk. It's an easy recipe that tastes great. The kids (and adults) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I made this for my daughter's birthday when she requested a 'really chocolate-y cake.' I topped it with a chocolate butter cream frosting and put a layer of chocolate ganache in the middle and pressed dark chocolate chips into the sides. It fulfilled her request! And was a crowd pleaser for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy First

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Delicious, light, moist and very easy to make - only requires using a mixing bowl and is ready in no time. I will definitely make again! My new favourite chocolate cake recipe! Note: I used buttermilk powder mix and soy oil (instead of vegetable oil) and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I've made this many times and it never fails. It's dense, moist, and chocolately. As described, the batter will be thin, but no worries, it bakes up perfectly. I love that it doesn't 'hump' up, or round off in the middle too much when you bake it so you get a professional looking cake. This is my recipe for chocolate cake, full stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Wonderful rich moist easy to make cake. Its so good it rivals my signature chocolate cake recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Made the cake recipe only and made them into cupcakes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States