Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it had everyone raving and asking for seconds! It was fairly dark-chocolatey and not too sweet at all. I frosted it with an oreo buttercream icing which added that punch of sugar for those with a sweet tooth! Perfect recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made a 3 layer cake using this recipe and baked the layers for 23 minutes. It was somewhat crumbly, but had outstanding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Wonderful, melt in your mouth chocolate cake - made into cupcakes - 21 minutes at 350 degrees - perfect texture and moist! Topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze - Lovely with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
"The best cake we've had since moving to Azerbaijan", said my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My wife loves this so much that she made it her official birthday cake and requests it every year. I make a dark chocolate ganache for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've made this many times and Black Magic cake is now a birthday tradition for my family. You couldn't ask for a more moist chocolate cake recipe than this. Goodbye box cake mixes; I won't miss you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was great, one bowl, all ingredients go in and super easy! Tastes divine. Always moist, rich and makes a lovely thick cake, cheaper, easier and much better tasting than a box cake! This is fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This cake was rich and delicious! Delectable for chocolate lovers like my family. I hate to say anything bad about it, except the batter totally over flowed my 2 9-inch round pans! I should have known better, since the recipe made a lot of batter, but only a few minutes through, I ended up putting a cookie sheet underneath the pans. The cake was a mess! But a tasty mess! The only thing I was advise is leave enough room for the cake to grow. I think I'm going to make it tomorrow when I have some of my old buds come over, I'll just use a big pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States