Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Deadly cake sooooo stinking good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaneth Gray
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! This is the first time that I do a cake from scratch. So I called my mom, the baker in or family, to give me some pointers. So we switched the oil for butter. Then we mixed the eggs, vanilla, sugar and butter together for 6 minutes before adding any dry intrusions. it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I didn't have vegetable oil, so I subbed melted extra virgin coconut oil but otherwise followed the recipe. The top kind of collapsed and looked funny, but it was cooked through and it tastes absolutely delicious. I frosted it with Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This classic, decades-old recipe is my favorite cake in the universe. One note, though...due to the chemical composition of this cake, the batter rises A LOT when baking. When making small forms like mini-bundt cakes, fill the forms no more than halfway or the batter will expand and spill all over your stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used Dark Chocolate Cocoa and it was one step better than awesome!! I figured it was time to stop eating the cake long enough to thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had! Great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
deep rich chocolate, moist, good flavor with the strong coffee added. used raspberries in the middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Sally mulumba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was the first time that I EVER made a cake from scratch! I was really nervous going in, but ultimately was blown away by how easy it was… and how tasty the final product is! Word to the wise-- The batter, before baking, is VERY thin. Don't be alarmed!! It will bake up into a wonderfully fluffy, decadent chocolate cake. This cake is quite airy and fluffy--- if you're looking for a more dense, hearty cake this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa Carey- Ryan
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My first time making it- it took a few minutes longer than recipie states but I also, as I do when I bake- I shift the pans around 1/2 way through the bake time to give it an even bake. The center looks soft and the batter does go in very "wet" and thin but the final texture seems to be very soft. I had no issue with removing from pan. Set on stove top for about 15 then inverted onto wire racks for nearly 2 hours to fully cool. I complimented it with a dark choc. cream cheese butter frosting. I used Hersheys DARK Chocolate cocoa for my choice in both cake and frosting- it turned out great. I forgot to buy new pastry bags for some fancier decorating this time but it was just fine with a thick frosting and spoon back for lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States