Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kate DeDo
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
such a dence and moist cake. love love love it. definitely sift all the dry ingredients at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate DeDo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
My husband isn't a chocolate lover as I am, but he loved it. I however, wasn't real impressed. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
We have been making this recipe since I was a kid. It is the best chocolate cake! My mom always made it with vanilla icing and chocolate sprinkles. This is the same recipe that we always used, no changes. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Nice, moist, dark and very quick to put together. I have a few chocolate cakes that I like as much or more taste-wise, but this one is so simple it can be thrown together while fixing dinner. I cool it for 30 minutes, put in the freezer for 15, and it's cool enough to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I love this cake!!!! super moist and chocolateyyy. best chocolate came ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this cake for the first time a couple of days ago. I was a little concerned about the thinness of the batter but it baked perfectly. It was moist, delicious, and oh so chocolaty. The recipe was so simple with common pantry ingredients. It is the only chocolate cake recipe I will ever need. I can't wait to try it again with some of the frostings, fillings and liquers from other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Me and my husband absolutely ADORE this cake. It's moist, rich, chocolate-y, and the BEST chocolate cake. A simple vanilla cream cheese frosting is all it needs. We drank a cup of black coffee with it after dinner. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made this a few months ago now, but I bought it to a party and made a big impression, my aunty said something like "you could win any girls heart with this cake". The coffee flavor is subtle. I like to take out 25grams of flour and replace it with cornflour/cornstarch. This lowers the protein content and makes the cake more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I made these for my sons' birthday parties back in the 80's using the Hersey cocoa box recipe. I made cupcakes with paper liners so there was no problem with sticking (bake 20-25 minutes). I used a cream cheese and butter frosting. I used powdered espresso to easily make the strong coffee. I used a cup of milk with a tablespoon of white vinegar (let sit for 5 minutes) as a substitute for buttermilk. It's an easy recipe that tastes great. The kids (and adults) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I made this for my daughter's birthday when she requested a 'really chocolate-y cake.' I topped it with a chocolate butter cream frosting and put a layer of chocolate ganache in the middle and pressed dark chocolate chips into the sides. It fulfilled her request! And was a crowd pleaser for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy First

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States