Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is almost like Ina's recipe for Beatty's Chocolate cake. I didn't have the chocolate candies for her cake so I found this recipe and I was pleasantly surprised it is just as good without it. I did use her recipe for the butter-cream frosting as it has coffee in it too so it compliments it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best cake ever ! So easy soooo delicious ! Perfect as is , changed nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jocelyn68
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is dense and so flavorful. I paired it with a Mint icing. Excuse the mess on the plate but I am not a pro and well... this is how I roll. LOL Highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyntir
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I hate following recipes as i always add a little twist of my own. I followed this one to the letter and the cake is amazing....... thank you!! I need help on frosting, though. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I loved this cake! It turned out really moist and delicious! I added sour cream to help it be moist, and i plan to use ganache as my filling. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Wonderful dark chocolate cake... Moist and rich just as advertised.. I loved it... I used a Hershey's chocolate icing recipe that comes on the can.. It was wonderful... So rich, I couldn't even overindulge like I many times do... Had to put that last bite down and save it for later... Great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Almost everyone had seconds. Dark, rich tasting, and flavourful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wonderful Moist cake. I added 1 ounce of dark melted chocolate to the batter. I also did not have buttermilk so I used 1/4 cup regular milk and 1/4 cup sour cream instead. I frosted it with the chocolate sour cream frosting from this site and it was divine. Everyone loved it! My 3 year old kept saying "MMMMM this good momma" the whole time he ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
since i cant decide on what this recipe deserves i will award it 4 stars. i made it for my birthday and topped it with butter cream icing. maybe it would be five stars if i paired it with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States