Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Delicious, easy to make, stacks well as a layered cake! Highly recommend lining pans prior to baking for easy removal. This recipe has become my "go to" for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Awesome, did used Chambord as I was out of vanilla.and it is so yummy! And silly me I checked some pointers on another site,that will remain nameless, to make a giant cupcake and put a pan of water under the side the makes the top of the giant cupcake as was suggested. I do not recommend this, the top did not cook! The cake is also very forgiving as I had to put the top back in and was simply able to cut off the top and put it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have tried this cake. It is very moist and delicate. Very difficult to cut slices from it properly as it is getting crumbled.Is there any suggestion to correct it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made this cake for my daughters birthday and my grandfathers birthday a few weeks later. It was fabulous and everyone loved it. I did not have any of the issues that the negative reviewers had and I followed the recipe exactly. The first time I made it with 2 rounds and a cherry filling in the middle. (1 can of black cherries with the juice, 1/4c butter, 1/4c sugar, and a few tbsp flour to thicken it up) The second time I made the 9x13 1 layer. Both turned out great. It took the full 40 min to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this about a year ago, first time, and took it to a pot luck at work, and WOW! What a hit! Great cake! Loved this cake, not super sweet or super chocolaty, just the perfect balance. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naya
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I loved this revenue. Thank you very much.. I have tried it and it came out very beautifully :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have made this several times and it is such a great and easy cake to wow my husband with. I like to make two small cakes with one batch and then freeze the second one. I just let it sit on the counter until thawed and it is just like it came out of the oven. I also use spelt flour instead of wheat, which is better for your digestion and if you may be diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I forgot to grease the pan. Oops! My family and I just tore bits off of the cake, just as is. Tonight is my mom's birthday and we are also celebrating my mom's parent's 49th anniversary. I won't forget to grease the pan this time! I also left out the coffee, as there are kids that are younger than 7, it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Perfect. Just... perfect. Like others stated I was put off by the thin batter. I'm such a kitchen klutz (and a regular klutz) that I figured I had missed a step or ingredient somewhere. Convinced that the cake was ruined, I took the loss and put it into the stove anyway. What came out after nearly 55 minutes (40 minnutes wasn't enough. The cake was still really wet) was pure bliss. It was chocolaty. It was moist. My mom thoroughly enjoyed it, though initially she wanted nothing to do with the cake out of fear that it would taste like coffee (but who doesn't like coffee? Weird). I couldn't find a single hint of it in the cake. Just a rich chocolate flavor. Too bad in my hurry I opted for frosting-in-a-can. Nothing wrong with it, but I'd love to make a frosting that pairs with it. Definitely my new go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Hands down, the BEST chocolate cake I have ever made..and it is requested over and over again by family. Be sure to follow the directions exactly, and use the best cocoa you can find. The recipe is super easy. Great with chocolate ganache frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,647) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States