Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Almost everyone had seconds. Dark, rich tasting, and flavourful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Wonderful Moist cake. I added 1 ounce of dark melted chocolate to the batter. I also did not have buttermilk so I used 1/4 cup regular milk and 1/4 cup sour cream instead. I frosted it with the chocolate sour cream frosting from this site and it was divine. Everyone loved it! My 3 year old kept saying "MMMMM this good momma" the whole time he ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
since i cant decide on what this recipe deserves i will award it 4 stars. i made it for my birthday and topped it with butter cream icing. maybe it would be five stars if i paired it with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this last night with my niece. It was her first time baking a cake and it came out wonderful. So moist and light. We had a great time! easy and fun to make. Her dad and my hubby pretty much inhaled it! It was a huge success. I didn't not have buttermilk and just used what I had which was low fat milk. It seemed to work great. Next I will try the buttermilk to compare the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Sappington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Mine came out just perfect!, thanks for the recipe, it is delicious, very easy to make, I used Lyncott whipped cream and melted chocolate as frosting, a total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nirvana Pijama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This cake is my favorite cake that I ever tasted , but I want to learn how to make brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I have made this cake several times now and it is just amazing! However, I did try something new which was a huge mistake. I substituted a little bit of buckwheat flour for two reasons, 1. because I needed to use it up and 2. because I try and be healthy once and awhile. Anyways, this was just terrible, really it was. If I have to give advise on anything, is to avoid the buckwheat flour in this. Not only am I the only one that is forced to eat and entire bundt size cake alone, I now have a husband who will not let it go. Thankfully I didn't attempt to serve my 'masterpiece' to guests. I'm not sure what is worse, forcing my toddler to eat it or the fact that my pregnant tastebuds actually like it. Super great recipe though, just stay away from the buckwheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This cake is divine! It is very moist and has the dark, rich chocolate taste that I wanted. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Filer, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an excellent cake. A good from scratch cake that I have never had fail. I would suggest, if it's to your liking, to use an espresso for the coffee and Kahlua in place of the vanilla. To the one with the meh ratings, and they are all over the internet, you never like anything. I ignore your ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States