Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Rich flavor, but came out very dense, especially on the bottom of the pan. Perhaps I didn't cook it enough, even though the toothpick came out clean. I used Hershey's unsweetened cocoa. I will try cake flour next time to try for a lighter, fluffier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karlacook
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
After looking through many recipes for my son's 14th birthday cake, I decided on this one and now it will be the "go to" cake recipe from now on. I didn't need to change a thing; just took the advice of someone on here about freezing the layers for a short time to make it easier to ice. Iced it with my own version of chocolate butter cream, adding 4 oz of cream cheese and a tbls of Amaretto an decorated with sliced strawberries. Everyone said it was the best chocolate cake they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This recipe was amazing and tasted so chocolaty. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
My go to chocolate cake! So rich and moist. Just delicious. I've made it twice, and am both times so impressed. I love the addition of coffee. I frost with Beatty's chocolate buttercream, and then add some chocolate shavings...just to feel gourmet. But it really turns out beautiful. I think about this cake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRmaggy
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very crumbly. I left the cake in the pan for several hours to cool and it broke apart when I removed it. I greased with butter and flower. I think I will try again and grease with vegetable oil. I'll also try putting the cake in the refridgerator or freezer before removing from the pan, or maybe parchment paper. The flavor was delicious so it would be worth ironing out the kinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Such a good cake recipe!!! Everyone who trys it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha Mae Buhr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Had too much cocoa and wayyyyy too much coffee. My mother compliments my cooking, but she really disliked this cake. The only thing I got compliments on was the filling (strawberry filling from this site, but I used a mix of frozen berries) and the cream cheese frosting (from this site also). Disappointed, will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Hashmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Easy to make, even for novice cookers like me and the result was great! I definitely recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Kousathana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This cake is absolutely DELICIOUS. It was super dark, chocolatey and moist. I iced the cake with some peanut butter buttercream which made it even better. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amara Ha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I made this and a different chocolate cake from this website at the same time. And this one is it. It came out moist, rich chocolatey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States