Black Joe Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
It is an interesting cake and did not dislike it. Certainly very easy to make. Will probably make it again but with some changes. Please reviewers how can you rate a cake as excellent when you change it completely. This is what turns me off even writing a review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Needed a little something flavor wise...but definitely moist and sort of "fudgy" in texture. It was okay tasting, but like I said missing a little something. Would maybe be good with chocolate chips for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious and so easy! After reading some other reviews I took a chance and made some changes that I think improved the cake immensely. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and a tablespoon of mayonnaise (I know, it sounds strange but it really is a great addition!) Takes away the nonfat aspect of the recipe but adds a richness for just a few extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I tried this recipe and the cake was kind of bland so I made a peanut butter glaze to go over it. But without it, its not sweet enough and has a weird taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My family loves this cake, it´s olso known as "Italian cake" for the olive oil. A good thing to put on it is a cream cheese icing. Just beat 2 (8oz) cream cheese, 1/2 c confectiones sugar and 1tbs of almond extract, it´ll come out delicious. Also the cake tastes better if you cut off 1c of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This cake is now a favorite in my house! It came out excellent, all of my kids loved it. Its a easy one with simple ingredients! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theopa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I'm afraid I definitely noticed the absence of eggs, milk and/or butter. Dry, with a "cardboard" taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINGALEX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I made it exactly as it was written. The cake has nice texture , great to make a layer cake. Comes easy out of the cake pans. It lacks something in taste, tastes a little watery to me. Maybe something can be added to improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Not the best but not the worst. Was looking for something with what I had on hand..I'll keep searching. Thanks for posting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I was looking for a different recipe, and stumbled upon this. It was good, not too rich, which works out good for me. really nice and moist. It didnt last long at our house! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States