Black Ice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Yes, this ended up tasting exactly like chocolate pudding. However, I liked that it wasn't too sweet. People with poor reviews probably didn't follow the recipe correctly. The amount of thickeners and liquids needs to be exact. I used a hand powered mixer to stir at every listed time, and the consistency was spot on. This was a great icing for my "wanted-a-not-too-sweet-for-snacks" cake. I made it on the black magic cake recipe. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MplsGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This didn't work very well for me. I used skim milk and I wonder if I used 2% or whole milk if it would have worked better. It was pudding-like on top and runny on the bottom. When I stirred it, there were clumps. It did taste good so I still used it since it was just for home, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I'm sorry to say I don't much care for this frosting. It's got very little flavor, no sweetness at all, and has the consistency of congealed pudding. I needed to pipe it so I put it in a bowl to cool (with some cling wrap pressed against the surface since like a pudding it started forming a skin immediately). I got impatient and put it in the pastry bag hot (thank you Ove Glove) and it was good I did that because as it cooled it turned into cement that was impossible to force though my large star tip. I'm not saying that this was horrible, but it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
If it walks like chocolate pudding and talks like chocolate pudding, it must be chocolate pudding , not fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I followed the directions exactly but ended up with something the consistency of playdoh, and it wouldnt stick to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
The previous reviewer must have done something wrong because this recipe was wonderful. It worked well with a sweeter cake as it's not very sweet itself. It will be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
Are you kidding? My god! I've not seen such an ugly thing since, well, since, ever! And what a DISGUSTING taste! Ick! My husband's poor birthday cake! I put this on, then PEELED it off, like silly putty!!!!!!!!! Oh my god, IN A WORD..........BARFORAMA!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This frosting is fun to make- watch out when you add the baking soda! It's almost like a pudding, very good and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States