Black Halloween Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The color of this was a hit, it looked gross. My kids loved the taste. I thought it was a bit sweet. I even left out almost half the sugar considering I was adding ginger ale. For some reason you couldn't see the fingers in the hand when I added it to the punch, they sunk maybe because they had gummy worms in them. I did fill the glove with red koolade though so it still was cool. Definitely a kids drink either way though. I got a brain mold to try that next year. Will probably make againg but I won't be drinking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
MADE FOR HALLOWEEN- MORE BROWN THAN BLACK- REALLY KINDA GROSS, PERFECT FOR HALLOWEEN!!!!- I FROZE GINGER ALE FIRST- WORKED OUT GREAT- KINDA LOOKS LIKE SEWER OR SWAMP WATER- KIDS LOVED IT-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This tasted quite strange to the adults at the party, but the kids loved it and that's who it's for, right? LOL It also had an awesome bubbly effect when the ginger ale was added so that was cool for Halloween too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
As a person who doesn't really like punch, I was skeptical of any punch recipe. But I came across this one and decided to fix it for my guests at a Halloween party. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and spiked it with some rum and it was *incredible*! I was very impressed, and will make this again for Halloween or an Over-The-Hill party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFERS0118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Lots of fun! I couldn't find grape or orange koolaid, so I used black cherry and tangerine. The color wasn't black, so I added a drop of green food coloring to do the trick. Kids loved it, so did the grownups! The floating hand was the best :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Way too sweet!!! I doubled the recipe for a big office party, but instead of using 4 cups of sugar I only used 3 thinking that would be just right, blah! My 12 year old even thought it was too sweet! I added about another quart of water and it tasted a little better. The hand of ice, while cool looking, was more of a hassle to deal with and I made two and lost fingers on both, but that made it kind of cool with floating fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I've found a great way to keep it cold, therefore keeping the hand(s) from melting so fast. First off, I made this for my son's 4th grade class of 36 students today so I tripled the recipe (thus having 9 quarts of Kool-Aid). There are 4 quarts in a gallon, so I put the Kool-Aid mixture into two,cleaned gallon milk containers. This was made the day before, so I kept the containers in the fridge. That left 1 quart left over, which I put in a ziplock and froze overnight. The ginger ale was kept in the fridge in their unopened containers. The next day, I took it all to school and combined everything in the classroom into one of those big, plastic tubs (like the kind you bob for apples in). The quart of punch that was frozen helped keep it all cool, without diluting the flavor. Due to my punch being cold and refreshing, my "hands" did not melt until much later. The kids were afraid to try it at first until their teacher tried it (loved it!) and described it as a "melted otter pop." Only one child disliked it after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Photo by Nikkir
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
We LOVED this punch. I put dry ice in the big bowl below the punch bowl, and I also put dry ice into the punch bowl itself. It had fog coming out all over the place. I also put gummy worms in the ice cubes which the children loved. Highly recommend this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkir

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This punch was great! I reduced the amount of sugar so it wouldn't be quite so sweet. It was a huge hit! Kids loved it as did the parents. We'll certainly make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erdooley
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This punch was easy to make and very creepy. After reading the reviews, I found an opaque bowl to put it in so it would look pretty dark. And I only added half the sugar called for, and it was plenty sweet. The frozen hand looked really cool especially because I put red food coloring in when I froze it. I chilled the punch first and the hand lasted for about an hour before the fingers melted off. Not too many people drank the punch, but those that did said it was pretty good. Even though I had alot left over, it was worth doing because it looked cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States