Black Friday Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was a great wa to use up all those Thanksgiving leftovers. Instead of plain green beans I used the rest of a green bean casserole we had the night before. This gave it al lot of flavor. Also, topped with shredded cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this tonight in individual oven safe dishes. The only thing I added was a layer of sweet potatoes. I piled the potatoes in a high mound and baked for about 20 - 25 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did this (pretty much) last year, and am looking forward to doing it again this afternoon. My recipe is a little different, and may help the reviewer that mentioned she'd have liked the potatoes to be a little crustier. I put the stuffing in the bottom for the crust, and then did the potatoes on top (sort of like a Shepherd's Pie). Also, all of our green beans always get eaten (I use the Green Beans and Cherry Tomatoes recipe here), so I usually throw in a bag of frozen mixed veggies. It's all a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pocobelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. We had no green beans or green bean casserole left over. Instead I used leftover roasted vegetables and also leftover sliced cooked carrots. I followed other suggestions and reversed the potatoes and stuffing positions. I also put cranberry sauce on half the pie, as suggested. I liked the cranberry but my husband did not. Finally I sprinkled some shredded cheddar cheese on top. Delicious way to serve leftovers without a lot of different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Totally delicious. So easy. The best way to use leftovers ever. My 5 year old wants me to make it for her next birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My grandma ALWAYS made this after Thanksgiving. I love it b/c it takes so good, AND b/c it reminds me of my grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is fantastic!! You can use any leftovers you have, and it will be a little different every time. I also threw in cranberries and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have been making this for the past two years and look forward to eating it as much as thanksgiving dinner. My modification: I reverse the stuffing and mashed potatoes to make it like a shephards pie....the stuffing makes a more solid crust..and try mixing some leftover cheeseball into the mashed potatoes...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was delicious!!! We followed other reviewers' suggestions to flip the mashed potatoes and the stuffing -- we put the mashed potatoes on top and the stuffing on the bottom, which formed a delicious crust! -- and then we skipped the green beans (didn't have any), and added the rest: pieces of turkey and gravy. We also added our cranberry sauce (as per another reviewer's suggestion), and mashed sweet potatoes. It was fantastic!!! We will definitely be making this again. It was the best use of leftovers I've ever had, and also one of the best dishes I've eaten, period. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used a deep dish glass pie plate and I had to double the ingedients. I used our leftover cornbread dressing for the crust and baked at 375 for 10 mins while I reheated the other sides. I added cubed turkey & ham, some leftover wild rice/sausage/pecan dressing (personal recipe), & a few tbsp of gravy. Then I put my 'oranged' cranberry sauce on one half, since I wasn't sure if hubby wanted it or not (he did!), then the mashed potatoes and melted butter. To save time, I put the completed casserole in a pie plate in the microwave for 4 mins until it was hot, then only baked for 15 mins until it was golden and bubbly. (the same principle of baking a potato; goes faster if you microwave it first.) This is a keeper! The kids, 10 and 12, plus me & hubby only left about 2 big slices for leftovers, and they're asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States