Black Friday Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was very good. I didn't have any leftover stuffing, but decided I'd just make a box of it while it was cooking. I assembled everything else only to discover I didn't have any stuffing! So instead of the stuffing I tore up some leftover rolls & put them on top. I melted some butter, added turkey rub seasoning to the butter, then brushed it on top of the bread. During the last few minutes of baking, I added some french fried onions (to add some extra flavor since I didn't have the stuffing). I was hoping I'd get a little more solid of a "crust" with the potatoes, but it was still soft (even though the top edges were getting brown). Nice way to use up the Thanksgiving leftovers & it had lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was a great wa to use up all those Thanksgiving leftovers. Instead of plain green beans I used the rest of a green bean casserole we had the night before. This gave it al lot of flavor. Also, topped with shredded cheese. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Totally delicious. So easy. The best way to use leftovers ever. My 5 year old wants me to make it for her next birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did this (pretty much) last year, and am looking forward to doing it again this afternoon. My recipe is a little different, and may help the reviewer that mentioned she'd have liked the potatoes to be a little crustier. I put the stuffing in the bottom for the crust, and then did the potatoes on top (sort of like a Shepherd's Pie). Also, all of our green beans always get eaten (I use the Green Beans and Cherry Tomatoes recipe here), so I usually throw in a bag of frozen mixed veggies. It's all a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pocobelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this tonight in individual oven safe dishes. The only thing I added was a layer of sweet potatoes. I piled the potatoes in a high mound and baked for about 20 - 25 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yummy but wish potato 'crust' was 'crustier'. If that makes any sense. I recommend pre-baking the potatoes for a few minutes to get a crisper more pie like crust. Also the mashed potatoes will be easier to spread in a crust if they are slightly warm. One can achieve this by microwaving the potatoes first, just so they're warm. I didn't pay much attention to the measurements, I just put enough potatoes to make a crust, then a nice layer of leftover green bean casserole, then enough cut up turkey to cover that etc. It's possible that my crust wasn't crispy due to the extra moisture from the green bean casserole. Something to keep in mind...... As as cook I am my own worst critic. My husband who rarely doesn't like anything I make has declared this 'delicious'. So there you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a tasty way to get rid of all the leftovers before the food spoiled. I used my leftover greenbean casserole instead of just plain greenbeans. Plus I didnt have any potatoes or leftover mashed potatoes. So I used instant potatoes which was just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Strand

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used this recipe as a loose guideline. I didn't have stuffing, so I used scalloped corn as a topping, and didn't have leftover veggies, so I used about a cup of frozen mixed vegetables. This was delicious and a great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Aw Leftovers are leftovers no matter how you look at it. But this recipe helps get rid of them a little bit quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is fantastic!! You can use any leftovers you have, and it will be a little different every time. I also threw in cranberries and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States