Black Friday Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent! Flipped mashed potatoes and stuffing, as others suggested. Used frozen mixed veggies instead of green beans, because that's what we had on hand. Would love to try it with green bean casserole or other veggies. Loved by all four of us--hubby, 2 yr old, 1 yr old, and me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My grandma ALWAYS made this after Thanksgiving. I love it b/c it takes so good, AND b/c it reminds me of my grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used a deep dish glass pie plate and I had to double the ingedients. I used our leftover cornbread dressing for the crust and baked at 375 for 10 mins while I reheated the other sides. I added cubed turkey & ham, some leftover wild rice/sausage/pecan dressing (personal recipe), & a few tbsp of gravy. Then I put my 'oranged' cranberry sauce on one half, since I wasn't sure if hubby wanted it or not (he did!), then the mashed potatoes and melted butter. To save time, I put the completed casserole in a pie plate in the microwave for 4 mins until it was hot, then only baked for 15 mins until it was golden and bubbly. (the same principle of baking a potato; goes faster if you microwave it first.) This is a keeper! The kids, 10 and 12, plus me & hubby only left about 2 big slices for leftovers, and they're asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was delicious!!! We followed other reviewers' suggestions to flip the mashed potatoes and the stuffing -- we put the mashed potatoes on top and the stuffing on the bottom, which formed a delicious crust! -- and then we skipped the green beans (didn't have any), and added the rest: pieces of turkey and gravy. We also added our cranberry sauce (as per another reviewer's suggestion), and mashed sweet potatoes. It was fantastic!!! We will definitely be making this again. It was the best use of leftovers I've ever had, and also one of the best dishes I've eaten, period. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have been making this for the past two years and look forward to eating it as much as thanksgiving dinner. My modification: I reverse the stuffing and mashed potatoes to make it like a shephards pie....the stuffing makes a more solid crust..and try mixing some leftover cheeseball into the mashed potatoes...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is fantastic!! You can use any leftovers you have, and it will be a little different every time. I also threw in cranberries and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Aw Leftovers are leftovers no matter how you look at it. But this recipe helps get rid of them a little bit quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used this recipe as a loose guideline. I didn't have stuffing, so I used scalloped corn as a topping, and didn't have leftover veggies, so I used about a cup of frozen mixed vegetables. This was delicious and a great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a tasty way to get rid of all the leftovers before the food spoiled. I used my leftover greenbean casserole instead of just plain greenbeans. Plus I didnt have any potatoes or leftover mashed potatoes. So I used instant potatoes which was just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Strand

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yummy but wish potato 'crust' was 'crustier'. If that makes any sense. I recommend pre-baking the potatoes for a few minutes to get a crisper more pie like crust. Also the mashed potatoes will be easier to spread in a crust if they are slightly warm. One can achieve this by microwaving the potatoes first, just so they're warm. I didn't pay much attention to the measurements, I just put enough potatoes to make a crust, then a nice layer of leftover green bean casserole, then enough cut up turkey to cover that etc. It's possible that my crust wasn't crispy due to the extra moisture from the green bean casserole. Something to keep in mind...... As as cook I am my own worst critic. My husband who rarely doesn't like anything I make has declared this 'delicious'. So there you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States