Black Friday Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used a deep dish glass pie plate and I had to double the ingedients. I used our leftover cornbread dressing for the crust and baked at 375 for 10 mins while I reheated the other sides. I added cubed turkey & ham, some leftover wild rice/sausage/pecan dressing (personal recipe), & a few tbsp of gravy. Then I put my 'oranged' cranberry sauce on one half, since I wasn't sure if hubby wanted it or not (he did!), then the mashed potatoes and melted butter. To save time, I put the completed casserole in a pie plate in the microwave for 4 mins until it was hot, then only baked for 15 mins until it was golden and bubbly. (the same principle of baking a potato; goes faster if you microwave it first.) This is a keeper! The kids, 10 and 12, plus me & hubby only left about 2 big slices for leftovers, and they're asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was delicious!!! We followed other reviewers' suggestions to flip the mashed potatoes and the stuffing -- we put the mashed potatoes on top and the stuffing on the bottom, which formed a delicious crust! -- and then we skipped the green beans (didn't have any), and added the rest: pieces of turkey and gravy. We also added our cranberry sauce (as per another reviewer's suggestion), and mashed sweet potatoes. It was fantastic!!! We will definitely be making this again. It was the best use of leftovers I've ever had, and also one of the best dishes I've eaten, period. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I have been making this for the past two years and look forward to eating it as much as thanksgiving dinner. My modification: I reverse the stuffing and mashed potatoes to make it like a shephards pie....the stuffing makes a more solid crust..and try mixing some leftover cheeseball into the mashed potatoes...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is fantastic!! You can use any leftovers you have, and it will be a little different every time. I also threw in cranberries and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Aw Leftovers are leftovers no matter how you look at it. But this recipe helps get rid of them a little bit quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used this recipe as a loose guideline. I didn't have stuffing, so I used scalloped corn as a topping, and didn't have leftover veggies, so I used about a cup of frozen mixed vegetables. This was delicious and a great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a tasty way to get rid of all the leftovers before the food spoiled. I used my leftover greenbean casserole instead of just plain greenbeans. Plus I didnt have any potatoes or leftover mashed potatoes. So I used instant potatoes which was just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Strand

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Yummy but wish potato 'crust' was 'crustier'. If that makes any sense. I recommend pre-baking the potatoes for a few minutes to get a crisper more pie like crust. Also the mashed potatoes will be easier to spread in a crust if they are slightly warm. One can achieve this by microwaving the potatoes first, just so they're warm. I didn't pay much attention to the measurements, I just put enough potatoes to make a crust, then a nice layer of leftover green bean casserole, then enough cut up turkey to cover that etc. It's possible that my crust wasn't crispy due to the extra moisture from the green bean casserole. Something to keep in mind...... As as cook I am my own worst critic. My husband who rarely doesn't like anything I make has declared this 'delicious'. So there you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this tonight in individual oven safe dishes. The only thing I added was a layer of sweet potatoes. I piled the potatoes in a high mound and baked for about 20 - 25 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I did this (pretty much) last year, and am looking forward to doing it again this afternoon. My recipe is a little different, and may help the reviewer that mentioned she'd have liked the potatoes to be a little crustier. I put the stuffing in the bottom for the crust, and then did the potatoes on top (sort of like a Shepherd's Pie). Also, all of our green beans always get eaten (I use the Green Beans and Cherry Tomatoes recipe here), so I usually throw in a bag of frozen mixed veggies. It's all a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pocobelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States