Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I just made this and it is WONDERFUL, so rich and good. Just make sure you use enough butter on the top, you need pretty good coverage from thin slices of butter. My husband is REALLY picky and he's in heaven eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
the taste is not bad, but almost everything the previous rewievers said is true: yes, you have the crumbly crust problem, and it's not quite cooked; yes I had to mix it after taking it out of the oven; yes, the trick of slicing the butter is good, and yes, this means so much butter... yes, 1 package of cake mix is definitely too much, I thought half would have been quite the thing; yes, the walnuts are almost out of place here. I'll give it another try before throwing this recipe to the wind, but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought this was an okay recipe, but needed more cherries. Not nearly as good as some black forest cakes out there, plus with all that butter it is way too fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay...at first i hated it and was going to throw it out but i put it in the refrigerator to take care of later. When i took it out and tried it again, i LOVED it! Just needs some ice cream to go with it now...sorry i jumped to conclusions...please forgive me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I just pulled this out of the oven and I am ready to jump in!Smells good and looks wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It was fair. Certainly easy, but nothing I'd ever make again. My family said it had too many cherries. I didn't mind those, I just wasn't wild about the texture of the chocolate part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
By reducing the cake mix to 1/2 and the butter to 1/2 cup then pouring the juice from the can of cherries over top instead of beneath the mix it will make it moist and all will be cooked. Next time I will use an 8x8 pan so the fruit is thicker and still reduce the mix to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This recipe is good when you want to whip up something quick. I think people are mislead about dump cakes. Most people expect it to be like an actual cake but it's supposed to be like fruit filling with a crunchy topping. I used pecans and slice up a really cold stick of butter and placed the butter slices on top that way you get more even coverage. Dump cakes are great !!! Give them a chance !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was a tasty, easy dessert. I used two cans filling instead of the pitted cherries and it worked quite well. It is great topped with fresh whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see how some people weren't impressed with this, BUT I LOVED it! I'd give it 5 stars for flavor alone but gave it 4 just because of the non-cake like consistency. If you are thinking of making this be warned that it is not a cake, rather more of a dessert (you spoon it into dishes). The woman who said the trick is to cut very thin pieces from a stick of butter and cover the _entire_ top is correct. I did this and didn't have the crumbly problem others mentioned. Instead, the top turned out a bit crusty with the gooey cherry stuff underneath. Keep an eye on temp so the top doesn't scorch (my oven runs hot). Serve with whipped cream. (I skipped the nuts; a personal preference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States