Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Oh my gosh! This is too good! I used two cans of cherry pie filling, added 1tsp almond extract and sprinkled a semisweet chocolate chips across the top before I put the cake mix on. Grating the butter really helps. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is awesome! So awesome I have made it 2 times this month in addition to making a variation 2 times. My variation is 2 cans of apple pie filling, 1 jar of carmel sundae topping, one box of butter cake, with pecan pieces on top, and butter of course. serve with whipped cream or ice cream. unfortunately the scale shows how good it is too. But nothing this good can be good for you right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great change up on dump cake flavor. For those stuck on the word cake, get pass the word "dump", because it is not fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I mixed the cherry pie filling together with the pitted sweet cherries (yes, I kept the liquid.....it's like when you make a regular dump cake with the cherry pie filling and whole can of crushed pineapple with juice). I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. My dump cake was done in just over 30 minutes. I served this slightly warm with dollops of Cool-Whip. My family adored this dessert. Very good. NOTE: If you cut your butter into very thin slices and layer them over the dry cake mix/nut layer, you should have enough to cover the whole dry layer and end up with a topping that looks like a crisp/cobbler. I don't always get the results I want if I melt the butter and drizzle it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I did modify it a little. I mixed some mini chocolate chips into the dry cake mix before putting it on the cherries. I also melted the butter before I put it on. Oh, and I stirred in about 1 1/2 tsp vanilla into the pitted dark cherries before I spread them over the pie filling. And I found out that this recipe tastes MUCH better cold. Super yummy though, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Really good! to avoid the "dry spots" reported by other reviewers, I simply cut the butter into the dry cake mix, like you would for pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I am not a fan of chocolate unless pared with rasberries so I replaced the cherry pie filling with rasberry pie filling. Mix the rasberries and cherries and spread in a 9x13 pan-no need to use cooking spray. Sprinkle the chocolate cake mix over the fruit and break up cake mix "clumps" to avoid uncooked cake mix. I simply LIGHTLY pat it down. Thinly slice one stick of butter and place pieces over cake mix to evenly cover. Top with nuts and bake 1 hour at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this for a work function and it turned out well. However, I did make some changes. I could not find pitted dark sweet cherries. So, I substituted a 5 oz bag of dried cherries, 1/8c Light Agave Nectar and 1/2c water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great dessert- This is a very good dessert made even better served with cool whip or vanilla ice cream. You have to make sure that you cut the butter very thin and layer it over the cake mix so that the butter is almost touching. (no big chunks) You will get a top that is crisp with almost no cake mix unbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States