Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I mixed the cherry pie filling together with the pitted sweet cherries (yes, I kept the liquid.....it's like when you make a regular dump cake with the cherry pie filling and whole can of crushed pineapple with juice). I also used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. My dump cake was done in just over 30 minutes. I served this slightly warm with dollops of Cool-Whip. My family adored this dessert. Very good. NOTE: If you cut your butter into very thin slices and layer them over the dry cake mix/nut layer, you should have enough to cover the whole dry layer and end up with a topping that looks like a crisp/cobbler. I don't always get the results I want if I melt the butter and drizzle it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Very Tasty! The trick to getting all the cake mix to bake is to cut very thin slices from a cold stick of utter and lay them as close together over top of the cake mix layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This cake is just awesome. Quick, easy and so GOOD! For those of you who were complaining about having dry cake mix after baking - you need to use more butter. I usually use a whole stick and it turns out terrific. I also substitute pecans for the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see how some people weren't impressed with this, BUT I LOVED it! I'd give it 5 stars for flavor alone but gave it 4 just because of the non-cake like consistency. If you are thinking of making this be warned that it is not a cake, rather more of a dessert (you spoon it into dishes). The woman who said the trick is to cut very thin pieces from a stick of butter and cover the _entire_ top is correct. I did this and didn't have the crumbly problem others mentioned. Instead, the top turned out a bit crusty with the gooey cherry stuff underneath. Keep an eye on temp so the top doesn't scorch (my oven runs hot). Serve with whipped cream. (I skipped the nuts; a personal preference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
By reducing the cake mix to 1/2 and the butter to 1/2 cup then pouring the juice from the can of cherries over top instead of beneath the mix it will make it moist and all will be cooked. Next time I will use an 8x8 pan so the fruit is thicker and still reduce the mix to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This recipe is good when you want to whip up something quick. I think people are mislead about dump cakes. Most people expect it to be like an actual cake but it's supposed to be like fruit filling with a crunchy topping. I used pecans and slice up a really cold stick of butter and placed the butter slices on top that way you get more even coverage. Dump cakes are great !!! Give them a chance !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
My cake turned out with the cake mix still there. I did just as it said. Don't know what I could have done different. ?? Used it with vanilla ice cream after I removed some of the cake mix that didn't make a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is not a cake recipe. First I called it pudding, then I decided it was more like cherry crisp, except not crisp. The flavor is strange with the cake mix, and I had to mix it all together after cooking for it to taste okay. It does taste okay... but it is not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Super!! We made this for my mom's birthday... searched allrecipes for chocolate and cherries... and came up with this winner!! It was not too rich, not too sweet, not too cherry, not too chocolate... just right!! And soooooo easy!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
very good flavor. instead of the thin slices of butter I grate a frozen stick over the top of the cake mix, works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States