Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I can see how some people weren't impressed with this, BUT I LOVED it! I'd give it 5 stars for flavor alone but gave it 4 just because of the non-cake like consistency. If you are thinking of making this be warned that it is not a cake, rather more of a dessert (you spoon it into dishes). The woman who said the trick is to cut very thin pieces from a stick of butter and cover the _entire_ top is correct. I did this and didn't have the crumbly problem others mentioned. Instead, the top turned out a bit crusty with the gooey cherry stuff underneath. Keep an eye on temp so the top doesn't scorch (my oven runs hot). Serve with whipped cream. (I skipped the nuts; a personal preference.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I really don't know what to call this recipe, but cake is not it. Way to sweet and the consistancy of undercooked brownies in some areas and hard crumbles in others. Did not got over well at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I left out the walnuts, because some dont like it and my family loved it!!! Even those who werent big fans of cherry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Wonderful! So easy and SO GOOD! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Goodfellow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I had the crumbly cake mix problem that others mentioned. But it was easy and it had chocolate and cherries in it soo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is not a cake recipe. First I called it pudding, then I decided it was more like cherry crisp, except not crisp. The flavor is strange with the cake mix, and I had to mix it all together after cooking for it to taste okay. It does taste okay... but it is not cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Very Tasty! The trick to getting all the cake mix to bake is to cut very thin slices from a cold stick of utter and lay them as close together over top of the cake mix layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
This was so wonderful, I made it late one night to take into work the next day and everyone just loved it. I did not have any cherries in juice on hand, just the canned cherry pie filling so i just added a little water to the can after i emptied it and it worked just fine. I also melted the butter and used a lil more then called for and it turned out wonderful. Thank you for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Great recipe, my daughter made this for the family, she was 8 at the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was almost too easy and too good, everyone thought I spent hours and it was actually about 5 minutes to prepare. I will make this again and again. It was so good it was gone in no time and I never take seconds of desserts but I had three servings of this. I used a triple chocolate cake mix, I think it was Betty Crocker and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States