Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great dessert- This is a very good dessert made even better served with cool whip or vanilla ice cream. You have to make sure that you cut the butter very thin and layer it over the cake mix so that the butter is almost touching. (no big chunks) You will get a top that is crisp with almost no cake mix unbaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I love this pudding cake. I used more butter than what was on the recipe though. I also tried it with raspberry filling instead of the cherry filling. The men here loved it. I wasn't very keen with it! I told my husband that he would eat anything that I make, within reason, that is! HEHE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was great, I customized it with marachino cherries instead of dark, which helped with the moisture and cooking. I drained the juice and poured it over the the cake mix before adding the butter. Also, heatted can of dark choc icinge in micro for 1 min, stirred and poured over as well. This is a very rich cake, but very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a great Black Forest Pudding, rather than a cake. Why not make it more German by soaking the pitted dark sweet cherries in Kirschwasser overnight and using the booze/cherry instead of just cherry and cherry juice? A great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcaf36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
very good flavor. instead of the thin slices of butter I grate a frozen stick over the top of the cake mix, works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Not a keeper for me. The taste was off for me. My kids picked at it, but I still had more than 3/4 left over a week later. Thanks for the recipe, but it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Not only is this a quick and easy recipe, it is delicious! I doubled the recipe for a large group and got rave reviews and requests for the recipe. It came out perfect just as the recipe was written. I made no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Definitely recommend cutting in the butter like with a pie crust / biscuit recipe. The 45 min at 375 was way excessive for me. It was done in about 30 min. I'm disappointed it tastes a little burnt b/c I wasn't sure how long to leave it (toothpick doesn't seem to work w/ a dumper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
tasty and easy - can do all kinds of cake and canned fruit combinations on this one. Lemon cake with blueberry, Spice Cake with apple pie filling, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
the best way to mix topping on any dump cake is to mix cold butter with cake mix as though you were making biscuits (before the milk is added that is). Then you will have a strusel-type topping, therefore more crumbly and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States