Black Forest Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
THIS IS A GOOD RECIPES JUST LIKE MOM USE TO MAKE GOING TO USE IT OFTEN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
My husband has a "thing" about soggy cakes and why he won't eat them, so I was positive I would have to polish off the dump cake myself. I was pleasantly surprised that this had more of the texture of cobbler, and he gobbled it right up! Definitely will be making again, and with different variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoakwifey24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
It was ok, I used Chocolate pudding and a yellow cake mix, it was all I had on hand. Same principle just switched the flavors. Since it was the first time I made this, I wasn't too sure if I should have put it back in the oven or take it out the way it was. It was too gooey. I was kinda expecting a "cake like" substance. It sat and sat my kids wouldn't even eat it. Sorry not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Everyone loved it and my husband said 'Don't lose the recipe'. Left out the pudding and used low sugar everything. Do make sure the butter is evenly distributed across the top or you'll have dry spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Simply AWESOME! I used raspberry pie filling and red velvet cake! I cut my butter stick length wise to get even coverage...much easier than shredding. I make diff variations all the time! Such a versatile easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This Recipe was just what I was looking for! I only had choc. cake mix and had everything else. I usually make a similar recipe w/ yellow cake mix and canned peaches..However, I did not add the pudding mix as it is not needed. I also do not like coconut so I left that out as well. To avoid a dry crumble make sure your butter is spread evenly across the entire dessert. This is a must for it to turn out correctly! Someone suggested grating frozen butter. I've not tried this, but sounds like a wonderful idea. I will definately be trying!! Would make things alot easier. Another combo that I love is crushed pineapple, blue berries, and yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
If I were to make it again, I would use some of the tips from others and use more butter and melt it first then pour it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingleside, Texas, USA
Living In: Culver, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I loved everything BUT the pineapple in this. It didn't blend in with the other flavors. Texture and acidity was just wrong with the pineapple. I used the "cook" kind of pudding and it set up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
will leave out the coconut next time, was wonderful other wise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I took this to a neighborhood picnic, everyone loved it. My husband was disappointed that there were no leftovers to bring home. Will have to make again. I used softened margarine in a plastic bag with a small hole cut in the corner,like a pastry bag,then made a lattice pattern across the top of the cake mix. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States