Black Forest Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
FANTASTIC AND WAS A BIG HIT AT MY HUSBAND'S OFFICE THANKSGIVING POT LUCK LUNCHEON. I READ ANOTHER LADY'S REVIEW WHICH WAS UNBECOMING. THIS IS DELICIOUS. HITS THE SPOT :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I just made this for my children. I would suggest that the quantity of butter be increased as the ratio of dry ingredients to wet ingredients is too great. The flavor was very processed and benign. I would make it again but with flavor alterations, apple and caramel, suggested by another reviewer, sounds wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The easy way to get an even layer of butter so that all the cake mix gets some is to grate a very cold stick of butter evenly over the top. Use the butter wrapper to hold the stick as you grate. You may also use frozen butter. When the dry cake is covered evenly, it is crisp and buttery in the finished product (which is NOT supposed to be cake-like, but more of a fruit crisp.) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe twice. It always receives RAVE reviews and everyone wants the recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I made this ages ago, and just realized that I'd never written a review. Anyway, I don't really know about it... It was pretty strange. No one really ate much of it. It tasted too "processed" or something to me. I'm usually not a big fan of cake mixes, and this just confirms that all over again for me. Sorry, just not crazy about it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I love this recipe - I used a caramel flavored cake mix and apple pie filling. Wonderful! Be sure to use all the juice in the pineapple - do not drain. I even used a sugar-free vanilla pudding mix and it turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I immediately see a couple of problems with the recipe...too much dry ingredient and not enough butter. The pudding mix is unnecessary, as most cake mixes already have pudding in the mix. By adding more DRY pudding, one may end up with a gelatinous type substance. Coconut will also make sometimes make things a bit on the dry side.(ever put coconut in a sweetbread of some sort?). Most dump cakes call for AT LEAST 3/4 cup butter. When you add it all up, it is no wonder that most reviewers end up with dry cake mix on top that does not go anywhere (but perhaps in the garbage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
it was a little dry, but after it has set on the counter for a few days it is more moist. i had to use 1 cup of butter for the top or it would have been really dry. I would only use maybe 3 oz of coconut and 2 cans of cherry pie filling. There was not enough pie filling and pineapple but too much coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I actually used this recipe this past summer on a camping trip in a dutch oven. All of my extended family loved it! My husband doesn't like cherry, so I used blackberry filling instead- very yummy. I put whipped cream on top for a nice treat around the campfire. The pineapple and coconut are great complimentary flavors with the berry filling. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States