Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
I used this cake for a birthday present to one of my best friends and he said it was the best cake he had ever had!! I also had a lot of fun making it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
I used black cherry pie filling because I couldn't find canned black cherries. The cake required some time to make, but it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This desert is heavenly! It should be served when your guests will have some room for a "rich dessert!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This cake was just great. I didn't have cherry liquer and so I used the syrup from the cherry jars, and it came out great. One thing I noticed is that the leftovers a day or two later seemed to taste even better, with the cake being extra moist and all soaked through. The whipped cream topping keeps OK too but for the best taste I would suggest putting the entire cake together a day or so in advance of when you will be using it (to give plenty of time for the layers to soak through), and then just frost with whipped cream right before serving. I also found it necessary to chill the coffee icing before use, to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
Could be a bit heavy for kids, but this recipe was fantastic, everyone enjoyed it and the recipe is straightforward if you take account of the tips in the other reviews. Also, if you don't have kirsh, I used almond extract which seemed to do the job (just a little bit). I've been asked to make this a number of times but I like to keep it for special occassions as it is KNOCKOUT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
The recipe and cake its self was very good. But I think the measurement for 1 cup of coffee is wrong. What is the consistency of the filling in the middle suppost to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
The proportion of confections sugar/butter/coffee is wrong. I had to make an adjustment. It turned out very good. A very tall cake. Next time I will make 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This cake was delicious. I made it for my wife for Valentines Day and it was a big hit! I don't know what the other reviewers were talking about with the 1 cup of coffee. The recipe clearly states 1 TSP! The liquer taste is a bit strong, next time I think I'll cut it down a bit. With the uncooked alcohol this is definitely NOT FOR CHILDREN! But overall...WOW! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
this was a really wonderful cake...I only cut it into two layers; after soaking up the alcohol it was kinda dense...also I put half the cherries and frosting between the layers and put the rest on top...everyone was sooo impressed. I guess the amount of coffee is the frosting has been corrected; I actually used more like a tablespoon as well as a bit of the liqueur, and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this cake for my boyfriend as a preslude to "dessert". He could not get enough - it's that good! I followed the directions exactly and had no problems whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States