Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Delicious!!! Doubled the butter for the icing, and added extra coffee. Would probably use cherry pie filling next time to save the extra work. And covering the sides of the cake with chocolate curls/shaving was time consuming and a pain, probably just do the top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Futo Maki
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
A very yummy recipe. I was a bit frugal and used cheaper pie cherries instead of bing cherries and it still turned out nice. No coffee or liqueur but even without this turned out very moist. The frosting isn't sweet, which worked out nicely since I added chocolate shavings to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This cake tasted wonderful. There was a small problem, however. When I made the whipped cream icing, it turned out white, not dark brown as the original photo of the cake was. I remedied that by mixing in espresso, powdered sugar, and cocoa powder. It turned out to be delicious mocha-cream frosting. The cake was very moist as well, but instead of chopping the cherries for the filling, I used them whole- which turned out to be very interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I made three of these cakes at one time, for a big event at church. I used nine cake pans, three per layer, and that worked well, but it gave me nine chances to try sprinkling layers with different methods. I used half maraschino-cherry juice and half kirsch for the sprinkling of each cake. One thing I figured out, while doing this, was that if you pierce the cake layer carefully, about 20 or 30 holes, it helps the kirsch soak in better. I used a fork on one layer, and that didn't work as well, because the moist cake tended to stick to the fork tines. I used a long-handled cooking fork with two long thin tines for other layers, and was more careful in piercing the layer, and that worked better. On the layers that I didn't pierce before sprinkling, the top one-fourth inch of the layer was so wet that it was impossible to ice with the coffee-chocolate frosting. The pierced layers were much easier to ice. Also, I transported the stacked layers to the church to do the finish work there. This was not a good idea, it turns out, because these soaked cake layers are so fragile. One of the cakes basically broke apart while being transported, although I had carefully propped and packed each cake. So I would say, if you plan to serve this somewhere other than where you bake it, bring the baked cake layers to the destination BEFORE doing anything further. I used, with the 6 cups of whipping cream, three packets of powdered Dream Whip, about 1/4 cup of kirschwasser, and about 2/3 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Tasted better then I expected. I only put in about half of the liqour. I put some on the chocolate and soaked the cherries in the rest overnight. For the icing that goes on the middle layers: It needs more than a few spoons of liquid (cherry,milk or coffee) to thin it up enough to spread onto the cake layers. This is my husband's favorite kind of cake and my first time making it. DO NOT skip the wax paper circle. I decided to just grease the bottom of my pans and it was very difficult to get them out (and one fell apart while doing so). Finally, the cake was made a week ago. Kept in the fridge and the slice I ate tonight was better then last week. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
OVERALL WASN'T A BAD RECIPE. THE WHIP CREAM WAS TASTESLESS SO I ADDED SUGAR TO IT. I WOULD MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Very very delicious and rich. The recipe halves very well. Made it for my husband's birthday. A very romantic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
the cake itself was great, i messed up on the kirsh(couldnt find it @ stores), so i bought chocolate liquer. i didnt like the top frosting, so i changed it to buttercream. it was ok, the forsting i used from here was too sweet. too much work otherwise. wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
NOT WORTH THE EFFORT. The inside frosting (even with the reduced 1/ 1/2 cup proportion) is way too sweet! The outside frosting is so bland and does not come out like the picture. People who say this recipe is a 4 or 5 are talking about a completely different cake, with so many modifications it might as well be a different cake. A waste of time, ingredients, and patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this cake for a friend's husband and he said it was the best Black Forest Cake that he has ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States