Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy cake. As the cake was for adults and kids I made it a 3 layer cake with the kirschwasser, and kept one layer and made into a 2 layer half-cake without kirschwasser. Kids and adults were very happy with their cakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
AWESOME!! The first time I made this I skipped the strong coffe addition. The second time I used esspresso. Man what a difference!! So tasty!! I will be making this again and again! Small problem with the cherry liquer leaking out of the cake as it sits. But not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made my Black Forrest Cake for the first time today. I drained the cherry pie filling I had and added a little hot water to the syrup to thin it out and used it in the cake. I baked the cakes in 2 8 inch square pans instead of round ones I do not have in flex ware. They came out of the oven looking good. I had to used cocoa powder in the cakes. The cake was delicious tonight with the cherries between the four layer cake with the coffee flavored frosting (I added about 3 T. coffee to the frosting to make it creamy) hit the spot: cherries-chocolate-coffee yum-o. I left out the whipped cream part, but frosted the top with the coffee frosting and drizzled melted chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is THE BEST CAKE!!!! It is not to sweet and enough kirsch to enjoy the liquer flavor. I was in a rush so I did make a box cake the second time I made this and it was just as perfect the 2nd time. Modification is that I used chocolate shards on top.. I make these by melting 4 oz. of bittersweet choco in double boiler and spreading on a 16" long piece of parchment in a thin even layer cover with a second sheet of parchement. Start rolling at short end in a narrow tube and refridge seam side down. YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE SHARDS when needed for any cake. I put mine in the freezer wrapped well. Hope it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was the first cake I've ever made from scratch and it turned out fantastic! Granted, my kitchen was a battlefield of flour and cocoa powder, but it eventually turned out decent. I made this for my husband's birthday and was grumbling the whole time because I'm not a huge fan of chocolate and cherries (so I was expecting to not get to eat the cake I spent so long on!) and I was insanely surprised at how much I liked this. I didn't add half as much Kirsch as it was calling for because I panicked while looking at the 1/2 cup full, but I can see how easily it all can be added and will definitely add more for the next cake. All I could find was Maraschino cherries and that's all I used. I added the cherry juice from that into the frosting and probably would have doubled the frosting recipe next time because I was running out (I always have frosting issues on cakes). The taste of this cake is addicting! It's not a sickeningly sweet cake, so after eating a slice, you don't feel like your stomach is exploding, so that was a major plus for both me and my husband. I will definitely use this recipe for whenever I want to make a Black Forest cake. I don't even see a reason to try other recipes because I enjoyed this one so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I had never made a cake from scratch before this one. It was amazing! I couldn't get fresh cherries because of the season and used candied ones. Next time I will definitely soak the fresh ones overnight in the kirsch. I used a thread pulled tight to cut the layers in half. Thanks for this, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraupnorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I found the filling to be slightly unstable with the temperature of the kitchen I was working in and required many trips to the fridge to keep it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this cake yesterday to have for dessert after an Oktoberfest meal. The cake came out beautifully. I don't understand the point of putting 1 teaspoon of coffee in (even strongly-brewed) it had no effect on the flavor. I'm assuming that's what the coffee was for. The whip cream icing was a disaster but I saved it without even trying to. When instructed to whip the heavy whipping cream to stiff peaks, I did. THEN it says add the vanilla & kirschvasser - bad move !! By then it was too far whipped & in order to blend the vanilla & kirschvasser in completely the whip cream started taking on that dreadful "you've gone too far" look. Lumpy, like cottage cheese & not what I want on my cake. Other recipes w/ similar instructions add the flavoring(s) at the "almost stiff peaks" stage so as not to end up w/ the mess I did. By the time you actually get the vanilla & kirschvasser blended in adequately it should be just about at "stiff peaks" stage. Things were going so smoothly up to this point that I refused to freak out over the whipped cream so I just stuck into the fridge until the cake cooled enough to split the layers & do the filling & cherries. I gave the icing a couple of good stirs & began plastering it on. I could see that it was a darn good thing that it was good & cold cuz that's the only reason that it held it together long enough to ice the cake ! I just ate my 1st piece & it is very intense but SO enjoyable ! I've always wanted to make on of these & glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
It was better the first time I made it. I can't remember what I did, but I believe I took other reviewers suggestions. This time I did it exactly as it was written. 1) too sweet. 2) too dry. 3) Buttercream proportions are way off. Turned out more like a fondant. Still yummy, but not really wow, omg, worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful! I added about 6 tsps of the cherry juice to the cream mixture (butter, confectioner's sugar, salt, and coffee) because it was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States