Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this for my daughters birthday (same cake every year, she is now 24) and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
YUM...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
super easy and it can make a great dessert for any occation. but if you want to make this recipie even better switch the unswettened cocoa powder with half regular sweetened cocoa it will come out even better. ;P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
SO AWESOMELY YUMMY! I made it for a contractor friend at work for her birthday today. I replaced the butter w/ canola oil and the milk for 1 can of diet cream soda (I have a dairy allergy). It was SO MOIST and PERFECT! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing a WONDERFUL chocolate cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Duann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Excellent cake! I made for a German dinner party and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
For the amount of time I put into making this cake I was very disappointed with the results. This cake was dry, did not keep well (frosted with whipped cream like the recipe calls for) and did not have a strong flavor. If I ever make it again I will simplify the recipe by a) follow other users' suggestions and simply use pie filling instead of the more expensive canned cherries b) use a dark chocolate cake mix c) frost with either more cherry pie filling or a light chocolate frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This recipe is awesome. Love to bake, never made a black forest cake before and it definitely was in the top 2 best cakes I've ever made and this was a first try. I only made a few changes for extra flavor and color. I used 1 can dark sweet cherries and 1 can of red tart ones, added about 2 tablespoons of chocolate syrup to my whip cream and also added a couple spoons of the dark sweet cherry juice to the whip cream as well. Will definitely make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I think I'm more of a traditionalist - preferring the whipped cream slightly sweetened, and no buttercream. I usually have a cherry filling, instead of just cherries. In my opinion, the buttercream was too sweet, and having two "icings" made the flavor inconsistent. I would rather have a more sweetened whipped cream and use that between the layers, with home made cherry filling, and the whipped cream as an icing. On the plus side, I did like the fact that the cake was brushed with cherry juice (instead of Kirsch since I don't use alcohol). This was one of my worse black forest cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is my family's favorite cake recipe. We save it for special occasions like Christmas eve and birthdays because it is THAT GOOD. It is decadent, yet not overly sweet. The flavors of the cream, chocolate, cherries, and liquor all come together for a perfect, elegant cake. Seriously. You won't be disappointed. And it is EVEN BETTER on the second day, so I try to make this cake at least a day in advance if I can. If not, that's fine---it just means better leftovers :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I definitely agree with the other reviewers who wrote the majority of people who rated this recipe highly, completely modified the recipe. Therefore the recipe on it's own needs a bit of tweaking. I thought I was going to be bringing a wonderful dessert for Thanksgiving dessert, but this cake was a flop. The butter creme was very sweet and the whipped cream bland (even after adding 4 tablespoons of confectioners sugar) and didn't even one another out. My cake was also very hard to slice without all the layers falling apart, leaving an unattractive glob on plates. In addition, this is a cake where you need to bite into all flavors at once to appreciate it and with the blob on plates it was kind of hard to do so. Although the chocolate cake alone wasn't bad, I'll continue to look for other Black Forest Cake recipes. God Bless! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States