Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This recipe is very good...HOWEVER, here are my moderations: I made this in a hurry, so I had to use a dark chocolate cake mix, which was wonderful. -Soak the cherries in the kirsch overnight.-Because other's have said that it's too strong I used only 1\4c. kirsch and 1\4c. leftover cherry juice to brush onto the cake. It was potent enough.-Set aside 12 whole cherries for decoration and chop the rest for the filling.-Double the buttercream icing recipe to ice the layers, top & sides of the cake, and also reserve about 1c. of icing to use as rosettes later. (If you don't have an icing pipe, simply put icing in a plastic baggie and snip one of the corners. Press the icing out.) Press out 12 icing rosettes and use them as a base on which to put the 12 reserved whole bing cherries. It looks really pretty! Delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made this for my husband's birthday. Since he loves Black Forest Cake, and until now has only had the grocery store bakery version, this was a special treat. The chocolate cake part is pretty basic but the Kirschwasser lifts it up and the rich buttercream is a nice contrast to the outside coating of whipped cream. Notes: I used 9 inch cake pans so the cake was not too tall. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar to the whipped cream frosting. Even with the added sugar, the cake was not overly sweet -- it was just right. Finally, this is not a cake for kids -- the kirschwasser is pretty strong and the alcohol taste will probably turn them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This cake stole the show at a pre-Valentine Party and not a crumb was left afterwards. I recommend allowing a day for the syrup to soak through the cake in the fridge (covered of course, cakes pick up odors and flavors and dry out). The high alcohol content mellows out over time. I assembled the cake(with the cherry buttercream filling minus the whipped cream frosting) on a tin pizza platter - you know the disposable type. I was glad I did because the cake is quite fragile after soaking. I chose not to sweeten the whipped cream because I had an ample amount of shaved semi-sweet chocolate on hand to sprinkle over the entire cake which sweetened the whipped cream. I used 1/4 cup of Kirshwasser for the syrup and brushed it generously over the cake and opted to use maraschino cherries for garnish on top- just for appeal. I might use more Kirsh next time. I could hardly taste it. To those of you who had trouble finding Kirshwasser-I thought I was running into the same problen at my local liquor store. The vendor told me I was mistakingly looking in the Cordials section when I should have looked in the Brandy section of the store. Next to the cherry brandys were Hiram Walker™ Kirshwasser. Oh and another modification: Try using 1 stick (8 TBS) butter to 4 cups powdered sugar. It should take about 2-3 tbs. liquid to get to the right consistency. I find the original recipe is wayyy too sweet and doesn't produce enough buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I live in Germany, and this is one American recipe that I must admit is nearly dead on. However in the Black Forest fresh cherries are used which have soaked overnight in the Kirschwasser (Cherry Water around 40+%). My husband always says that if it is made correctly the room will spend when you stand up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This cake was just great. I didn't have cherry liquer and so I used the syrup from the cherry jars, and it came out great. One thing I noticed is that the leftovers a day or two later seemed to taste even better, with the cake being extra moist and all soaked through. The whipped cream topping keeps OK too but for the best taste I would suggest putting the entire cake together a day or so in advance of when you will be using it (to give plenty of time for the layers to soak through), and then just frost with whipped cream right before serving. I also found it necessary to chill the coffee icing before use, to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Wonderful recipe!!! My son needed a German recipe to make for his World History class and he chose this one. The class raved about it! We made a few changes. For the unsweetened cocoa powder he used Hershey's Special Dark (unsweetened) Cocoa. He used the cherry juice from the canned cherries instead of the kirschwasser. After reading the reviews, he used only 2 cups of confectioners' sugar and still added about a teaspoon of cherry juice to make it spread easier. He made three 8 inch layers instead of cutting the two into 4 layers (he just cooked them for less time). He cut the cherries in half to put between the layers and to decorate the top of the cake. He added the 2 tablespoons of dry milk while whipping the heavy whipping cream to stabilize it as recommended earlier and the frosting looked great on the cake the next day. At first he wanted to add sugar to the whipping cream to make it sweeter, but he decided not to. After tasting the cake the next day, he said the less sweet frosting complimented the sweet cake very nicely--he was glad he didn't add it! The cake came out nice and moist and the tastes blended beautifully after letting it sit over night in the refrigerator. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I made this cake as a birthday cake for one of our office staff. It was a HIT! I made a few small changes. I didn't feel like the cakes were large enough to cut into. So I just made a 2 layer cake. I only used 2 cups of confection sugar. For the cherry filling, I used one can of cherry pie filling. I used Kaluha instead of the coffee. To garnish I grated a square of chocolate over the top of the whipping cream, then placed Kirch soaked maraschino cherries around the edge of the cake a 4 in the middle. It was not only beautiful, it was Delicious, and the hit of the birthday party! Thanks for submitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
The cake came out rather well. I used about 1 1/2 cups of sugar for the filling instead of 3 1/2 cups as suggested from the posts below. I also added one tbsp of coffee. The texture of the filling was absolutely fine and i had no problems with it. however, i think the next time i will double the amount of ingredients used as the filling was hardly enough to cover all 3 layers. I used cherry rum instead of Kirsch and soaked the cake overnight like some ppl said but i could actually hardly taste the alcohol at all. I'd suppose it is probably bcos it's not Kirsch. I also added about 1/2 cup of sugar to the whipping cream. ALl in all, the cake was not too sweet and it has a very good presentation!! Also, for those who cannot cut cakes into half, try using a thread and wrap it around the cake circumference. Pull it towards you and ta-da! a beautifully cut cake with no crumbs or uneven sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I get so irritated when people rate a recipe 5 stars when they've made a ton of modifications to it to get the recipe to that level. It is misleading and this cake is a perfect example. I followed the recipe to the 't' and was very disappointed. My husband took a bite, and could not continue eating it. I have never seen him do that in all of our years together. The Kirsh is waayyyy too strong and overpowers everything. The outside 'frosting' is not good at all and just has no taste except for the alcohol. This was really not what we were looking for. This cake took forever to make, especially with cutting the 2 cakes into half, and I am just so put out with the results...not to mention that after making a special trip to the store to purchase all of the ingredients it nearly broke the bank. I lived in Germany for many years and this is not authentic. I normally don't pay attention to the negative reviews but I should have on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. Black Forest cake has been the traditional birthday cake in his birthday, but always purchased from the supermarket bakery. I was feeling competitive, and I chose this recipe, and I followed it almost exactly. The only change I made was to add 2 Tablespoons of Nonfat Dry Milk to the whipped cream before I whipped it. This stabilized the cream so that it didn't collapse during the week it took us to finish it up. This cake is great. The chocolate cake scared me at first, because it seemed so dry and and unflavored, but the sprinkling of kirsch made it moist and awakened the chocolate flavor. The reviewers who say that this cake gets better over time are correct! I didn't have "canned bing cherries" I had to choose canned "cherrries jubilee" over canned cherry pie filling. OH HE LOVED IT SOO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States