Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I also live in Germany and find this cake to be pretty accurate. Two weeks ago my family and I spent the weekend in the Blk Forest. We ate cake everyday. Some is too strong for our 13 yr. old. We bought a cherry likor that is 25% and made her bday cake w/that instead. The only thing I dont like is the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babooshka76
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Delicious cake, very moist and flavourful. I made the mistake of using only half the amount of kirschwasser, because I was scared the cake would be too wet and run, but next time I'll use the full amount. Also I only had bigger baking trays so the cakes came out too thin and I couldn't cut them in two - it didn't really matter though - I just made an additional layer out of the halved recipe and ended up with three thicker layers. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I followed the directions to the T and the basic chocolate cake part of the recipe was good but once you add everything else to it the flavor of the cake itself got overpowered by the Kirsch liqueur and ruined the flavor. If you like the alcohol taste then you may like it but if you don't leave it out. I was disappointed and it was a waste of my money and I now have a bottle of kirshwasser Kirsch liqueur I do not now what to do with. The cake itself is good, but I have better recipe for a basic chocolate cake.So I'll just stick to mine. I cook all the time and bake a lot and This is not a cake i will cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Way too many alterations had to be made. I wasted a lot of time and money trying to improvise to make the perfect cake. The cakes came out way too flat to cut in half. So, I ended up doubling the cake recipe just to have 4 layers. I uncurled a paperclip and used that to poke holes in all the layers. Then I sprinkled each layer with 1/4 cup of kirshwasser and let it sit overnight. I pitted about 2 lbs of bing cherries and soaked them overnight in kirshwasser for the filling. After soaking, be sure to dab the cherries with a cloth to remove excess brandy before putting them on the cake. Otherwise, it'll water down buttercream and make the cake too damp. For the filling and frosting I only made buttercream frosting. Whipped topping wouldn't hold up well over a day or two. With the buttercream, I used equal parts coffee liqueur and the liquid that came from soaking the cherries. Just add until the consistency is just right for spreading. The liqueur and brandy gave the frosting a great subtle flavor, and a warm color that complimented the chocolate. I topped it all with a ring of brandied cherries. No chocolate shavings were necessary. Once the cake is frosted, chill in the fridge if necessary so the frosting sets. Making the cake this way, felt much more authentic. It was a huge hit. My friends and I literally got tipsy after having one piece. The cake tastes even better the next day. Not as strong, but the flavors had time to mingle and mature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xuan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Delicious, rich chocolate cake devoured by the group of college boys I made it for. A few observations-- The cake is very stable and won't crack, but does tend to crumb a little bit so be wary of this in frosting the outside. If you use the full amount of liquid (kirsch or otherwise; I used half cherry brandy and half maraschino juice, with a tbl of Amaretto) to sprinkle on the cakes some will run off in your refrigerator, so place on top of paper towels! Use different-sized cherries to help level the cake, or cut some in half if it's too tall in the middle. I frosted my cake with sweetened whipped cream as indicated and then tinted some pink with cherry juice. I made pink rosettes with a maraschino cherry each (I know, I know, but they're nicer-looking than canned bing cherries), and put a pile of chocolate curls in the center of the ring of cherry rosettes. I also cut very thin sticks of chocolate and pressed these into the sides of the cake around the edge almost like a picket fence. A bit of work from start to finish for this cake, but so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
make sure you pour the kirsch on after the layer is on the cake... I poured it on one layer first and couldn't lift it because it was too moist. I also used sour cherries in the cake (people found some pits which was not good) Turned out amazing though and everyone still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEXYCAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
In the end all I kept from this recipe was the actual cake part, and it was great! I never make cake, and found this recipe very simple and delicious. I used fresh cherries because they were in season and got excellent feedback from everyone. TIP: Don't skip the parchment paper in the bottom of the pan! I broke one of the layers trying to get it out of a non-stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Decadent cake that makes an impressive presentation! However, this cake is probably for the more seasoned baker to create. It does require more time then posted in the recipe, and it requires multiple steps/processes in preparing it. So "Heads-up" this is not a quick and easy dessert to make! But it is a wonderful cake to create if you have the patience and desire to build on your baking skills. It is very moist, and tender (what some reviewers have described as fragile). I did not find it difficult to work with, nor did it fall apart. However, the finished cake is a slight challenge to cut into nice pretty slices. If it is assembled a day in advance this helps to alleviate this problem as having it well chilled keeps the cake firmer. To help time wise I found it easier to prepare the cherry filling and the kirsch syrup a day in advance, allowing time to cool and chill well. For assembly I did not use all the kirsch syrup, I feared it was too much liquid on an already tender cake. I used about 2/3 - 3/4 of it. I used 1/2 sweet and 1/2 sour canned cherries. I up-ed the cornstarch to 7 tsp (so sauce would be thicker and not run from between cake layers). I added 1/2 cup ground toasted hazelnuts to the cake batter. I also brewed a hazelnut milk chocolate caramel coffee for the batter. I baked 3-8" layers instead of 2. Took 28 - 31 minutes. Another tip: look for heavy whipping cream that has gelatin already added to it. This aides in a result of a much sturdier whipped cream. I d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Looks very good. To moisten the cake layers, brush with a syrup made of 1/2 cup sugar, 1 cup water you have to boil for at leasr 3 minutes. Let cold and add about 1 tablespoon kirsch and a tablespoon cherries syroup. Brush each layer as you go arranging the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
THE BEST!!! This is by far THE BEST Black Forest cake in the world!! My daughter has been making this cake for the last 5 years for my birthday....no changes to the recipe at all.....and it is OUT OF THIS WORLD!! I have eaten lots of black forest cakes in the past and nothing compares to this at all!! Her favourite thing to do is back the cake a day ahead of time and soak it overnight with the kirsch....YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States