Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really don't understand the rave reviews for this cake. While the basic chocolate cake was fine, everything else was terrible. Adding 1/2c of Kirsch liqueur makes the cake taste and smell like rubbing alcohol. I'm hoping it will become edible after sitting overnight but am worried about it drying out in the fridge. The filling between the layers is far too dry - I softened the butter prior to creaming, but after adding the sugar and coffee all I had was a thick paste. I had to add about 1/3 c of cream to lighten the consistency, but if you have reserved syrup from the cherries, definitely use that. And what is with the unsweetened whipped cream for a frosting? This cake was very expensive, took a long time to make, and was just strange (not in a good way). If you must proceed, I would definitely suggest making it at least a day in advance and covering it well so it doesn't dry out. Maybe this is what "real" Black Forest Cake is supposed to be like, but if that's the case I must say I don't care for it at all. Also, change the default picture... This cake doesn't have chocolate frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved this cake but next time I will use a little less Brandy.. bottom layer was a little soggy. Instead of the half cup I will use 1/4. Beautiful cake, but not for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yes, this is a good recipe, however, something is either missing from the ingredients or, misinterpreted in the instructions. If you drizzle the 1/2 cup of Kirsch on the cake layers, then there isn't any liquid in the Icing - aside from the 1 tsp of coffee! Step 3 states to drizzle the 1/2 cup of Kirsch on the cake layers - which, to my knowledge is partly what Black Forrest cake is all about. Step 4 just doesn't make sense then though because, 3-1/2 cups of Icing Sugar and only 1 tsp of liquid (coffee) equals very dry crumble. I've made this twice now - the first time I mixed the 1/2 cup of Kirsch into Step 4. The 2nd time I drizzled the cake layers with the Kirsch (as it should be), and then had to add almost a full cup of liquid to the Icing Sugar mixture (I used milk, cherry juice, and another tsp of coffee). It's also nicer if the drained cherries are soaked in some Kirsch for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
so good! i used cranberry vodka because that's what was in the house. soaked the cherries in the vodka for 30 minutes before pouring it over the cake. didn't use the whipped cream frosting--just topped with the buttercream. moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Not that great, especially considering how much time and effort it took. The kirch definitely gets stronger the longer you store it so be aware of that. I don't know how anyone would eat more than a bite or two of this at a time--it is SO rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
The brandy is way too strong and the filling is way too sweet. Do not try this unless you are a good cook and know how to modify it to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is the best Black Forest Cake recipe I've found. I cheat a little - the last two times I've made it I used a chocolate cake mix for the layers.. then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made cupcakes with the recipe and used the icing part as a filling inside the cupcake. While the chocolate cupcakes were delicious with the whipped cream on top, the filling was watery and lost its icing consistency. I also didn't like the canned cherries. I should have used maraschino cherries in the filling instead. I refrigerated them and the filling firmed up some, but I think I will skip it all together next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
The cake it self was great, unfortunately the icing wasnt. There was no direction to add the chocolate. I improvised and used a Betty Crocker Chocolate icing, and got rave reviews on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinewife319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conowingo, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States