Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I kinda cheated and used a boxed cake but either way this cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good cake! Everyone raved about it! My recommendation is to put the kirshwasser on the cake layers AFTER you place each on the stack and before you spread the filing and cherries. I sprinkled kirshwasser on each piece and then tried to stack up the cake, but the liquid made one of the layers fall into pieces and I had to mold it together with the filling. I was a tad thrown off by the picture--I thought it was going to have chocolate frosting until I started making that portion of the recipe and realized it is white frosting. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: O'neill, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Good recipe and it was a hit for my father-in-law's b-day party. But I believe it's because I made the following modifications: 1) used cake flour; 2) soaked bing cherries in cherry brandy overnight; 3) used the buttercream frosting for in between layers, but used a different recipe for chocolate buttercream to frost the outside of the cake and just used the the whipped cream in this recipe for garnish/decoration along with cherry brandy soaked maraschino cherries; 4) used cherry brandy for the liquor instead of Kirschwasser; 5) Used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa so the cake was dark chocolate (it is black forest not brown forest); 6) prepped the cake pans with the parchment circles and sprayed pan and circles with cooking/baking spray & dusted with cocoa powder (instead of flour). My in-laws used to have a German friend who made black forest cake for them a couple of times and my FIL said my version beat hers without a doubt! He said hers was so dry as to be inedible and this recipe came out super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious! This has become the official birthday cake for a close friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great moist cake..very good taste as well..made it for my husband's birthday and got loads of appreciation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
great cake!! very easy to make the only change i made was to the frosting i added 6 teaspoons of powdered sugar. it made it taste a little sweeter. the frosting was great stood up beautifully! everyone at work enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The recipe for the layered cake is wonderful. I made it twice in the same week - once for my son's party with friends and the other for our family. I did not use the frosting recipe but used lightly sweetened whipped cream instead. My entire family loves Black Forest and this is one of the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I really don't understand the rave reviews for this cake. While the basic chocolate cake was fine, everything else was terrible. Adding 1/2c of Kirsch liqueur makes the cake taste and smell like rubbing alcohol. I'm hoping it will become edible after sitting overnight but am worried about it drying out in the fridge. The filling between the layers is far too dry - I softened the butter prior to creaming, but after adding the sugar and coffee all I had was a thick paste. I had to add about 1/3 c of cream to lighten the consistency, but if you have reserved syrup from the cherries, definitely use that. And what is with the unsweetened whipped cream for a frosting? This cake was very expensive, took a long time to make, and was just strange (not in a good way). If you must proceed, I would definitely suggest making it at least a day in advance and covering it well so it doesn't dry out. Maybe this is what "real" Black Forest Cake is supposed to be like, but if that's the case I must say I don't care for it at all. Also, change the default picture... This cake doesn't have chocolate frosting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved this cake but next time I will use a little less Brandy.. bottom layer was a little soggy. Instead of the half cup I will use 1/4. Beautiful cake, but not for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States