Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
AWESOME!! The first time I made this I skipped the strong coffe addition. The second time I used esspresso. Man what a difference!! So tasty!! I will be making this again and again! Small problem with the cherry liquer leaking out of the cake as it sits. But not a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made my Black Forrest Cake for the first time today. I drained the cherry pie filling I had and added a little hot water to the syrup to thin it out and used it in the cake. I baked the cakes in 2 8 inch square pans instead of round ones I do not have in flex ware. They came out of the oven looking good. I had to used cocoa powder in the cakes. The cake was delicious tonight with the cherries between the four layer cake with the coffee flavored frosting (I added about 3 T. coffee to the frosting to make it creamy) hit the spot: cherries-chocolate-coffee yum-o. I left out the whipped cream part, but frosted the top with the coffee frosting and drizzled melted chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinggirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is THE BEST CAKE!!!! It is not to sweet and enough kirsch to enjoy the liquer flavor. I was in a rush so I did make a box cake the second time I made this and it was just as perfect the 2nd time. Modification is that I used chocolate shards on top.. I make these by melting 4 oz. of bittersweet choco in double boiler and spreading on a 16" long piece of parchment in a thin even layer cover with a second sheet of parchement. Start rolling at short end in a narrow tube and refridge seam side down. YOU WILL ALWAYS HAVE SHARDS when needed for any cake. I put mine in the freezer wrapped well. Hope it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was the first cake I've ever made from scratch and it turned out fantastic! Granted, my kitchen was a battlefield of flour and cocoa powder, but it eventually turned out decent. I made this for my husband's birthday and was grumbling the whole time because I'm not a huge fan of chocolate and cherries (so I was expecting to not get to eat the cake I spent so long on!) and I was insanely surprised at how much I liked this. I didn't add half as much Kirsch as it was calling for because I panicked while looking at the 1/2 cup full, but I can see how easily it all can be added and will definitely add more for the next cake. All I could find was Maraschino cherries and that's all I used. I added the cherry juice from that into the frosting and probably would have doubled the frosting recipe next time because I was running out (I always have frosting issues on cakes). The taste of this cake is addicting! It's not a sickeningly sweet cake, so after eating a slice, you don't feel like your stomach is exploding, so that was a major plus for both me and my husband. I will definitely use this recipe for whenever I want to make a Black Forest cake. I don't even see a reason to try other recipes because I enjoyed this one so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I had never made a cake from scratch before this one. It was amazing! I couldn't get fresh cherries because of the season and used candied ones. Next time I will definitely soak the fresh ones overnight in the kirsch. I used a thread pulled tight to cut the layers in half. Thanks for this, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taraupnorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I found the filling to be slightly unstable with the temperature of the kitchen I was working in and required many trips to the fridge to keep it cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this cake yesterday to have for dessert after an Oktoberfest meal. The cake came out beautifully. I don't understand the point of putting 1 teaspoon of coffee in (even strongly-brewed) it had no effect on the flavor. I'm assuming that's what the coffee was for. The whip cream icing was a disaster but I saved it without even trying to. When instructed to whip the heavy whipping cream to stiff peaks, I did. THEN it says add the vanilla & kirschvasser - bad move !! By then it was too far whipped & in order to blend the vanilla & kirschvasser in completely the whip cream started taking on that dreadful "you've gone too far" look. Lumpy, like cottage cheese & not what I want on my cake. Other recipes w/ similar instructions add the flavoring(s) at the "almost stiff peaks" stage so as not to end up w/ the mess I did. By the time you actually get the vanilla & kirschvasser blended in adequately it should be just about at "stiff peaks" stage. Things were going so smoothly up to this point that I refused to freak out over the whipped cream so I just stuck into the fridge until the cake cooled enough to split the layers & do the filling & cherries. I gave the icing a couple of good stirs & began plastering it on. I could see that it was a darn good thing that it was good & cold cuz that's the only reason that it held it together long enough to ice the cake ! I just ate my 1st piece & it is very intense but SO enjoyable ! I've always wanted to make on of these & glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
It was better the first time I made it. I can't remember what I did, but I believe I took other reviewers suggestions. This time I did it exactly as it was written. 1) too sweet. 2) too dry. 3) Buttercream proportions are way off. Turned out more like a fondant. Still yummy, but not really wow, omg, worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wonderful! I added about 6 tsps of the cherry juice to the cream mixture (butter, confectioner's sugar, salt, and coffee) because it was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I have never really baked before, and while this was a hard cake to make it was not impossible and it turned out beautifully. It was a big hit for the birthday and tasted even better every time we had a leftover piece afterwords!! I did change one little thing, instead of soaking the layers in just the cherry liquor, I mixed the liquor with cherry juice from the cans and used that, still had a nice kick when you bit into it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyP325

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States