Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
NOT WORTH THE EFFORT. The inside frosting (even with the reduced 1/ 1/2 cup proportion) is way too sweet! The outside frosting is so bland and does not come out like the picture. People who say this recipe is a 4 or 5 are talking about a completely different cake, with so many modifications it might as well be a different cake. A waste of time, ingredients, and patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this cake for a friend's husband and he said it was the best Black Forest Cake that he has ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Monola
Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This cake was really close to the traditional black forest cake. The only difference was that it was a little too sweet. I cut the sugar a bit, which helped but the buttercream was still too sweet. I also used splenda for half of the sugar in the cake, and it didn't change the taste or consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this recipe for my German family. I think it was fabulous. Like others, I didn't use all the sugar for the buttercream frosting filling and actually doubled the butter, which worked well. If you have a hard time finding the liquor I would suggest to keep looking because it really made the recipe and I can't imagine the cake being nearly so good without it. I made and assembled it the night before and frosted it shortly before serving and I thought that worked really well to take the bite off the alcohol. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I made this cake in the morning at let it sit, assembled, until later that night. I found the cake itself to be dry (even with the added moisture). I may use another chocolate cake base. Other than that I thought it was pretty good. Honestly, I have had better cakes...that didn't take as much work. (Still...husband loves cherries and I love chocolate cake, so this was a good compromise). Note: I didn't have kirsh, so I used cherry juice with a bit of whiskey...not the same, but it worked:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
The cake came out rather well. I used about 1 1/2 cups of sugar for the filling instead of 3 1/2 cups as suggested from the posts below. I also added one tbsp of coffee. The texture of the filling was absolutely fine and i had no problems with it. however, i think the next time i will double the amount of ingredients used as the filling was hardly enough to cover all 3 layers. I used cherry rum instead of Kirsch and soaked the cake overnight like some ppl said but i could actually hardly taste the alcohol at all. I'd suppose it is probably bcos it's not Kirsch. I also added about 1/2 cup of sugar to the whipping cream. ALl in all, the cake was not too sweet and it has a very good presentation!! Also, for those who cannot cut cakes into half, try using a thread and wrap it around the cake circumference. Pull it towards you and ta-da! a beautifully cut cake with no crumbs or uneven sides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This cake stole the show at a pre-Valentine Party and not a crumb was left afterwards. I recommend allowing a day for the syrup to soak through the cake in the fridge (covered of course, cakes pick up odors and flavors and dry out). The high alcohol content mellows out over time. I assembled the cake(with the cherry buttercream filling minus the whipped cream frosting) on a tin pizza platter - you know the disposable type. I was glad I did because the cake is quite fragile after soaking. I chose not to sweeten the whipped cream because I had an ample amount of shaved semi-sweet chocolate on hand to sprinkle over the entire cake which sweetened the whipped cream. I used 1/4 cup of Kirshwasser for the syrup and brushed it generously over the cake and opted to use maraschino cherries for garnish on top- just for appeal. I might use more Kirsh next time. I could hardly taste it. To those of you who had trouble finding Kirshwasser-I thought I was running into the same problen at my local liquor store. The vendor told me I was mistakingly looking in the Cordials section when I should have looked in the Brandy section of the store. Next to the cherry brandys were Hiram Walker™ Kirshwasser. Oh and another modification: Try using 1 stick (8 TBS) butter to 4 cups powdered sugar. It should take about 2-3 tbs. liquid to get to the right consistency. I find the original recipe is wayyy too sweet and doesn't produce enough buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I used this recipe for christmas---it was great and a big hit. To save time, I used a devils choclate cake mix, over did it with the Kirsh, and let the cakes (soaked in Kirsh) sit in the fridge for two days. The buttercream filling, with the chocolate cake and whip cream frosting was a good mixture. I can't wait to make this cake again. Recipe was easy to follow and the cake was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
My finance's favorite desert is a black forest cake so i was a bit nervous about making him one from scratch. I made this for x-mas and it was a hit by all. the only changes i made was I added just a little confectioners sugar to the whip cream and used Mr. Bosten wild cherry brandy instead of the kirch. (it was a little cheaper)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I have to admit, that due to time, I used a boxed chocolate cake and then used this recipe for the filling and icing. I used cherry juice instead of the kirschwasser. I used 2-8" round and did not cut into 4 layers. The filling for the layers will definitely need cherry juice added to make it spreadable. I also added confectioners sugar to the whipped cream icing, after I had beat to stiff peaks. It was a nice recipe for guidance in making my own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States