Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was very good, but I had a hard time getting the heavy cream to set thick enough. I frosted the cake, but it looked a little messy. I may add just a little confectioner's sugar to help the cream set well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is a deliciously authentic recipe. My only alteration was to add a little of the coffee and 1/2 c of sugar to the whipped frosting as suggested by others. It was rather simple and makes for a very beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I get so irritated when people rate a recipe 5 stars when they've made a ton of modifications to it to get the recipe to that level. It is misleading and this cake is a perfect example. I followed the recipe to the 't' and was very disappointed. My husband took a bite, and could not continue eating it. I have never seen him do that in all of our years together. The Kirsh is waayyyy too strong and overpowers everything. The outside 'frosting' is not good at all and just has no taste except for the alcohol. This was really not what we were looking for. This cake took forever to make, especially with cutting the 2 cakes into half, and I am just so put out with the results...not to mention that after making a special trip to the store to purchase all of the ingredients it nearly broke the bank. I lived in Germany for many years and this is not authentic. I normally don't pay attention to the negative reviews but I should have on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janer110
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
The cake turned out well, tasted great even though I substituted the bing cherry juice for the kirshwasser because I couldn't find that in any liquor store around here. If I make this again, I will definitely hold off on putting the whipped cream icing on it until I got to my final destination as it sort of slid off the cake during transport. Even though I couldn't find the cherry brandy, I did put a little Creme de Cocoa along with the vanilla in the whipped cream and got lots of compliments on that. I would actually consider sprinkling that on the cake instead of the brandy just for a try. I also put mini semi-sweet chocolate chips on top of the cake instead of the chocolate curls with some cherries that I reserved. I am also not a big "at home" coffee drinker, so I didn't have a teaspoon of strong coffee on hand, so I mixed up some extra strong cafe mocha mix, which did give the butter cream filling a nice coffee like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janer110

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndonville, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monsterclowngirl
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a MASSIVE hit. And I made some changes: 1/2 the sugar in the cake, added another 1/8 c cocoa Blanched fresh cherries for 120 seconds, then fermented in grappa for 2 weeks. When I assembled the cake, I drizzled some of the cherry grappa on the top and bottom layers of the cake only. I mixed the liquored cherries with regular ones when I put them in the layers. I sprinkled cacao nibs on the whipped cream frosting. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monsterclowngirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I just served this cake last night for a birthday party and everyone LOVED it....I made the following changes: the base cake is fine as is...as one reviewer mentioned it can be fragile so use extreme care and finesse when handling the layers. I only used about half of the amount of Kirshwasser mentioned (approx. 1/4 cup)...I was afraid it would be too strong...regretfully you couldn't really taste it with 1/4 a cup...so next time I will put closer to the required amount of 1/2 cup. The buttercream frosting is interesting...everyone has made changes to it, it's one of those things that you taste and you add what you think it needs as you go along. I only put some of the sugar called for...probably more like half (1.5 cups) because it was very sweet, I doubled the butter and added about 6-8 tablespoons of coffee. If you want it to have any coffee taste you definitely need more than 1 tablespoon of coffee. It tasted great, next time instead of putting 2 sticks of butter, maybe I'll keep it at 1 or 1.5 so the butter taste is a little less. I did not put cherries in the cake, only put maraschino cherries on top for decoration. The whipped cream frosting is very nice, I left out the kirshwasser and added about 3 tablespoons of granulated sugar as it was better with some sweetness instead of blandness. Excellent cake, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
The cake itself was soooo good! It wasn't too sweet, and it has a beautiful dark color. I adjusted the recipe to fit 3 pans, and it worked wonderfully. I did have to make some alterations due to ingredient availability. I didn't have any buttermilk so I substituted an equal amount of plain yogurt (thanks allrecipes). Since I was making this for a pregnant coworker, I eliminated the liquer and replaced it with strong coffee. The recipe calls for too much sugar in the filling. Take other reviewers' advice and cut it back - you won't be sorry. UPDATE: I've made this a few times already, and it seems to work a lot better with cherry pie filling and not the super sweet filling called for in the original recipe. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Made this for a friend's birthday and he loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I though thecake was o.k. The layers are tasty and easy to prepare but the filling is very grainy and sugary. The second time I made the cake I used a Mascapone, Sugar and Baileys filling instead which is smooth an complements the layers very well. The cherries go well wth that, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a fair amount of work, but not as much as the traditional method of preparing Black Forest cake. If you find the kirsch too strong, mix it half and half with either cherry juice (from the can) or simple syrup (1 cup sugar dissolved in 3/4 cup water). Be careful if you use frosting rather than whipped cream to cover the cake as it is heavier and this cake is quite delicate and may not hold up under the pressure...learnt that one the hard way! And there is a typo in the recipe somewhere with the butter frosting ingredients - there was not enough liquid to mix all the sugar in - I just added a splash of milk and it worked great. Other than that, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States