Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I made them into cupcakes, and filled the cupcakes by using a small cookie cutter to cut a hole, then filled it with the cherries and powdered sugar mixture. I didn't use the heavy cream mixture. Instead I topped the cupcakes with regular buttercream frosting, maraschino cherries, and dark chocolate shavings. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought because of the reviews this would be awesome. I make a blackforest cake every year for my sons birthday. It's his ablsolute favorite. This weekend we have company and I thought that I'd try this recipe only to be dissapointed. The cake is too fragile, but tastes ok, the buttercream measurement needs to have the liquid increase. I used about 3 tablespoons more cherry juice to make it smoother for spreading. Whipping cream is made with confectioners sugar and that was missing from the recipe. I added about 3 1/2 tablespoons to it. Because there was so many modifications, I give it a three. Also, this is going to make me post a black forest cake that is tasty and not soo sweet! Perhaps you can rewrite the recipe a bit and then get a perfect star : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I used the cherry juice rather than the alcohol as recommended in several reviews. Otherwise followed the recipe as it is presented and it was excellent. Very moist cake and not overpowering on the cherry flavour as is sometimes the case with pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made this cake for my wedding as a groom's cake. A year and a half later I still get calls for the recipe. No left overs of this one! The only problem I had with it was the cherry filling was a bit runny so it soaked through the icing and I had to keep fixing it. This would probably be fixed if it was iced after letting the built cake sit over night (?). Anyway, great cake! My husband has me make it for anniversaries now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this cake for a 50th birthday. I now have a lifetime contract... Following a previous comment, I too used only 1/4 cup kirsch which I mixed with 1/2 cup cherry juice. It was a Delite! As the recipe specifies, I used the whipped cream to garnish the whole cake, I did not have enough whipped cream. I had to whip some more and did not necessarily like the looks of it. The picture shows it all in chocolate. I will garnish it differently the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Overall the recipe was okay. The best part of it was the actual chocolate cake, the amount of Kirswasser added was perfect. However, the pic shown with the recipe is not representative of the recipe itself. the frosting is not chocolate, it's just cream with *too much* Kirswasser. The filling is way too sweet.... I thought I was doing something wrong, but later comments revealed that people had to make additions for this cake to come out "authentic". If you don't follow the advice of the commenters, this cake is so- so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Delicious and very rich. I let the kirsch soak in overnight, and I soaked the cherries in kirsch/water as well. I used the white filling, but frosted with a fudgy chocolate frosting, then drizzled with ganache for my chocoholic co-workers. I topped with sweetened whipped cream dollops (just added powdered sugar and vanilla to taste) and put a cherry in each one. It was the birthday cake of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was terrific! I made it for my husband for his birthday. His entire family loved it! I followed some of the suggestions given about soaking it overnight with the cherry brandy (Kirschwaisser)and it was delicious. I doubled the recipes frosting because of the previous reviews as well...it was just the right amount to frost the cake and sides! My mother-in-law already requested it for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This cake was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My husband says this is the best Black Forest cake he's ever had. Followed most of the directions as written. Used Hersey's Extra Dark cocoa in cake. Replaced coffee with 1T powdered espresso diluted in 1T water. Also used full amount of Kirshwasser on cake and let it soak overnight. Added about 1T. of cherry juice to cakes when layering. Moist and delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States