Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved this cake but next time I will use a little less Brandy.. bottom layer was a little soggy. Instead of the half cup I will use 1/4. Beautiful cake, but not for a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whisperschips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yes, this is a good recipe, however, something is either missing from the ingredients or, misinterpreted in the instructions. If you drizzle the 1/2 cup of Kirsch on the cake layers, then there isn't any liquid in the Icing - aside from the 1 tsp of coffee! Step 3 states to drizzle the 1/2 cup of Kirsch on the cake layers - which, to my knowledge is partly what Black Forrest cake is all about. Step 4 just doesn't make sense then though because, 3-1/2 cups of Icing Sugar and only 1 tsp of liquid (coffee) equals very dry crumble. I've made this twice now - the first time I mixed the 1/2 cup of Kirsch into Step 4. The 2nd time I drizzled the cake layers with the Kirsch (as it should be), and then had to add almost a full cup of liquid to the Icing Sugar mixture (I used milk, cherry juice, and another tsp of coffee). It's also nicer if the drained cherries are soaked in some Kirsch for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
so good! i used cranberry vodka because that's what was in the house. soaked the cherries in the vodka for 30 minutes before pouring it over the cake. didn't use the whipped cream frosting--just topped with the buttercream. moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Not that great, especially considering how much time and effort it took. The kirch definitely gets stronger the longer you store it so be aware of that. I don't know how anyone would eat more than a bite or two of this at a time--it is SO rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
The brandy is way too strong and the filling is way too sweet. Do not try this unless you are a good cook and know how to modify it to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is the best Black Forest Cake recipe I've found. I cheat a little - the last two times I've made it I used a chocolate cake mix for the layers.. then followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made cupcakes with the recipe and used the icing part as a filling inside the cupcake. While the chocolate cupcakes were delicious with the whipped cream on top, the filling was watery and lost its icing consistency. I also didn't like the canned cherries. I should have used maraschino cherries in the filling instead. I refrigerated them and the filling firmed up some, but I think I will skip it all together next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
The cake it self was great, unfortunately the icing wasnt. There was no direction to add the chocolate. I improvised and used a Betty Crocker Chocolate icing, and got rave reviews on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinewife319

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conowingo, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The cake was not that difficult to make, but fell in the center and got hard on edges. Although a friend and I worked on this cake for a birthday, the icing did not make sense - was not chocolate and had no directions to add chocolate. Mainly it was wipped topping! We improvised and made a homemade chocolate icing. Will not try this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lelani

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States