Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I have never really baked before, and while this was a hard cake to make it was not impossible and it turned out beautifully. It was a big hit for the birthday and tasted even better every time we had a leftover piece afterwords!! I did change one little thing, instead of soaking the layers in just the cherry liquor, I mixed the liquor with cherry juice from the cans and used that, still had a nice kick when you bit into it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyP325

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The butter cream filling is so stiff you can't spread it and even after adding an ENTIRE second stick of butter, the filling got hard-- not firm...HARD. as in crunchy-- after being in the fridge over night. (the humidity was very high that day, too!) the plain whipped cream tasted like horse slobber after i put in the kirsch. (this can be remedied by adding some sugar, but mine went flat after playing with it too much to try and fix it.) try this idea using traditional butter cream filling, cut the kirsch "sprinkling" down from 1/2 cup to about 1/4 and make a sweet whipped cream frosting. you will be SO much happier. you might even want to switch to amaretto rather than use the kirsch. it is less bitter. i was so frustrated with every step of what should be a simple cake that i would truly say this cake is not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I kinda cheated and used a boxed cake but either way this cake was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Very good cake! Everyone raved about it! My recommendation is to put the kirshwasser on the cake layers AFTER you place each on the stack and before you spread the filing and cherries. I sprinkled kirshwasser on each piece and then tried to stack up the cake, but the liquid made one of the layers fall into pieces and I had to mold it together with the filling. I was a tad thrown off by the picture--I thought it was going to have chocolate frosting until I started making that portion of the recipe and realized it is white frosting. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: O'neill, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Good recipe and it was a hit for my father-in-law's b-day party. But I believe it's because I made the following modifications: 1) used cake flour; 2) soaked bing cherries in cherry brandy overnight; 3) used the buttercream frosting for in between layers, but used a different recipe for chocolate buttercream to frost the outside of the cake and just used the the whipped cream in this recipe for garnish/decoration along with cherry brandy soaked maraschino cherries; 4) used cherry brandy for the liquor instead of Kirschwasser; 5) Used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa so the cake was dark chocolate (it is black forest not brown forest); 6) prepped the cake pans with the parchment circles and sprayed pan and circles with cooking/baking spray & dusted with cocoa powder (instead of flour). My in-laws used to have a German friend who made black forest cake for them a couple of times and my FIL said my version beat hers without a doubt! He said hers was so dry as to be inedible and this recipe came out super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms.lisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Delicious! This has become the official birthday cake for a close friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great moist cake..very good taste as well..made it for my husband's birthday and got loads of appreciation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
great cake!! very easy to make the only change i made was to the frosting i added 6 teaspoons of powdered sugar. it made it taste a little sweeter. the frosting was great stood up beautifully! everyone at work enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The recipe for the layered cake is wonderful. I made it twice in the same week - once for my son's party with friends and the other for our family. I did not use the frosting recipe but used lightly sweetened whipped cream instead. My entire family loves Black Forest and this is one of the best. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States