Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I definitely agree with the other reviewers who wrote the majority of people who rated this recipe highly, completely modified the recipe. Therefore the recipe on it's own needs a bit of tweaking. I thought I was going to be bringing a wonderful dessert for Thanksgiving dessert, but this cake was a flop. The butter creme was very sweet and the whipped cream bland (even after adding 4 tablespoons of confectioners sugar) and didn't even one another out. My cake was also very hard to slice without all the layers falling apart, leaving an unattractive glob on plates. In addition, this is a cake where you need to bite into all flavors at once to appreciate it and with the blob on plates it was kind of hard to do so. Although the chocolate cake alone wasn't bad, I'll continue to look for other Black Forest Cake recipes. God Bless! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've made this recipe twice now for my husband's birthday and it has been a hit both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodKrazy
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I made my very first cake using this recipe. This recipe made the most delicious black forest cake! Few suggestions below: - Soak the bing cherries in the cherry juice and kirschwasser(1/2 c) overnight. - Sprinkle this soaking liquid on the cake layers. - Use some of this liquid in the filling as well. It gives a great cherry flavor. - I used almost 3 tbsp of hazelnut espresso which gave the cake a great coffee taste. - Add 2 tbsp of milk powder to the whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was a triumph! I just had to leave a note here attesting to its huge success--it's hard to overstate my satisfaction. This cake was great--so delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made this for my husband's birthday - best cake ever! To split layers I always use strong thread. Soak your sweet (not tart!) cherries overnight. It was an unbelievable success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Nice cake, but not sold on the texture of the filling. As per other comments, doubled the butter but did not increase the amount of confectioners' sugar. Was still _very_ sweet on its own, but didn't overpower the cake/cherries/cream. Unfortunately it was sort of gritty, likely due to the anti-clumping starches in the sugar. Everyone else liked it way more than I did. Also used dehydrated skim milk in the whipped cream as recommended, the swirls kept their shape for the week it took us to eat it. One more note, I used fresh sweet cherries and soaked them in kirsch. Unfortunately the party date was changed, so they continued soaking for several days and I was worried about them being too strong, not having much cherry taste left, etc. I ended up mixing in additional fresh ones when baking the cake - this turned out OK but the textures clashed a bit, and I would say it wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I am making this cake for my second time! I originally made it 2 years ago with my fiance for Mother's Day, and my Mom raved about it then, and still does today... That's why I am making it again, to surprise her when she arrives at our house on Friday! ... We'll see how long before she is asking for another one! P.S. If you use a shallow cake pan, I use the ones with the removable inserts, you can make 3 layers, or 4 if you choose, and you won't have to do any cutting like the original recipe calls for! ... Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
much too alcoholic (and I'm no prude). The recipe for Jenny's Black Forest Cake is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for my bf's birthday, and it turned out great. I subbed a chocolate buttercream frosting for the sides and top, with the whipped cream in between layers (with buttercream dam) and accented in the middle on top. The layers were bing cherries with a few maraschino thrown in. I used a German cherry liquor (not Kirschwasser - something more stout), and it turned out great. The cake realllllly started to soften after about 4 days, the bottom layer leaking the liquor and cherry juice. I kept it in a cake carrier in the fridge, and the flavor was great, but it turned soft. The bf still ate it up. It was my first four-layer cake, and turned out great. He was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Yummy cake. As the cake was for adults and kids I made it a 3 layer cake with the kirschwasser, and kept one layer and made into a 2 layer half-cake without kirschwasser. Kids and adults were very happy with their cakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States