Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
This desert is heavenly! It should be served when your guests will have some room for a "rich dessert!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
Cake turns out too soagy & mushy. Instead of soaking cakes in liqueur, maybe add liqueur to batter. Instead of using coffee - use the juice from the Bing Cherries. Too many overwhelming flavors - chocolate, liqueur, coffee & cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
When I asked my dad if I could make dessert for thanksgiving, I wanted to make something that I could do, and that would be really tasty. I found this recipe and I made it... As someone pointed out before, with the coffee, I took their advice, and used only 1/2 a cup, but it was still very soupy. I found myself wiping off the dish where it had run off. My dad and sister really liked the cake. I also sprinkled my left over confectioners sugar on top of the cake. The only downside to this cake is that the smell of the kirsch is quite strong when making the cake... but other than that, the cake is well worth the long time it takes (well, at least for me) to make it... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
I don't like overly sweet desserts, and this was one of the best cakes I've ever had. I took the advice of the previous reviewers and brewed 1/2 cup of really strong coffee for the buttercream, and it was definitely plenty of liquid. The coffee flavor went really well with the chocolate and cherries. I also saved the syrup I drained off of the cherries, added a little lemon juice and almond extract, cooked it down until it was thick, and drizzled it over the cake after I put on the whipped cream and before I put on the chocolate curls. There's a lot of kirsch in this cake--even the adults got buzzed off of it, so I wouldn't recommend giving it to children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I just had to use this recipe for a 40th birthday cake for my brother who is German and a black forest cake connoisseur. It got rave reviews and I thoroughly enjoyed helping him eat it!(Even the kids liked it). I'll have to agree with another rater in that the ratio of coffe to sugar in the butter filling was off. I ended up boiling the coffee til it reduced to half a cup (made it more concentrated). I didn't want to lose the coffee flavor by just using half a cup. Perhaps the recipe should be modified accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2000
I'm a well seasoned cook but this recipe either reads incorrectly or being at 2500 ft elev makes a difference! The 3 1/2 c confectioners sugar to 1 c. coffee is way off. I was in a hurry and knew better than to add all liquid at once...what a huge mistake!! This ratio usually is 4:1/4. It was soupy; I had to add an entire bag (32 oz) conf. sugar then chill it to firm it up. Also, the cake stuck to the sides of the pan. Maybe it was suppose to be sprayed? I have never heard of Kirsch referred to as 'kirschwasser' but figured it must be regular kirsch. Next time I'll use my better judgement and tweak the recipe accordingly. Great cake; wonderfully moist and very rich. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
I used black cherry pie filling because I couldn't find canned black cherries. The cake required some time to make, but it tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
I used this cake for a birthday present to one of my best friends and he said it was the best cake he had ever had!! I also had a lot of fun making it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-138 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States