Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made this for my husband's birthday. Since he loves Black Forest Cake, and until now has only had the grocery store bakery version, this was a special treat. The chocolate cake part is pretty basic but the Kirschwasser lifts it up and the rich buttercream is a nice contrast to the outside coating of whipped cream. Notes: I used 9 inch cake pans so the cake was not too tall. Also, I added 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar to the whipped cream frosting. Even with the added sugar, the cake was not overly sweet -- it was just right. Finally, this is not a cake for kids -- the kirschwasser is pretty strong and the alcohol taste will probably turn them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I made this for my husband's birthday. It was fantastic. The chocolate cake was easy to make -- I'm glad I didn't substitute a cake mix, which I thought about doing. The butter frosting was too dry, I used a total of four or five teaspoons of coffee before it was really workable. The whipped cream frosting was easy and fun. I made the cake the day before, then worried that the whipped cream frosting would get all sloppy and wet, but it all worked out fine. I kept the cake refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I made this cake for my boyfriend as a preslude to "dessert". He could not get enough - it's that good! I followed the directions exactly and had no problems whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
this was a really wonderful cake...I only cut it into two layers; after soaking up the alcohol it was kinda dense...also I put half the cherries and frosting between the layers and put the rest on top...everyone was sooo impressed. I guess the amount of coffee is the frosting has been corrected; I actually used more like a tablespoon as well as a bit of the liqueur, and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This cake was delicious. I made it for my wife for Valentines Day and it was a big hit! I don't know what the other reviewers were talking about with the 1 cup of coffee. The recipe clearly states 1 TSP! The liquer taste is a bit strong, next time I think I'll cut it down a bit. With the uncooked alcohol this is definitely NOT FOR CHILDREN! But overall...WOW! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Looks very impressive and it's fairly easy to make though it takes some time. I used Kaluah instead of the Kirsch and it turned out fabulous. Highly recommend for an adult B-day party! Keep in the fridge after you put on the whipped frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
The proportion of confections sugar/butter/coffee is wrong. I had to make an adjustment. It turned out very good. A very tall cake. Next time I will make 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
The recipe and cake its self was very good. But I think the measurement for 1 cup of coffee is wrong. What is the consistency of the filling in the middle suppost to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
Could be a bit heavy for kids, but this recipe was fantastic, everyone enjoyed it and the recipe is straightforward if you take account of the tips in the other reviews. Also, if you don't have kirsh, I used almond extract which seemed to do the job (just a little bit). I've been asked to make this a number of times but I like to keep it for special occassions as it is KNOCKOUT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This cake was just great. I didn't have cherry liquer and so I used the syrup from the cherry jars, and it came out great. One thing I noticed is that the leftovers a day or two later seemed to taste even better, with the cake being extra moist and all soaked through. The whipped cream topping keeps OK too but for the best taste I would suggest putting the entire cake together a day or so in advance of when you will be using it (to give plenty of time for the layers to soak through), and then just frost with whipped cream right before serving. I also found it necessary to chill the coffee icing before use, to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States