Black Forest Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I've made this cake for my birthday. It's turned out so great that we didn't have any leftovers. The reason I'm giving it 4 stars is butter-sugar icing that you need to use in between layers. I think 3 1/2 cups of sugar is way too much. I've omitted butter icing completely. Instead I've added some sugar, coffee and Kirsch to whipped cream and used it between layers as well as to frost top and sides of the cake (2 cups of whipping cream generates plenty of cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This recipe is very good...HOWEVER, here are my moderations: I made this in a hurry, so I had to use a dark chocolate cake mix, which was wonderful. -Soak the cherries in the kirsch overnight.-Because other's have said that it's too strong I used only 1\4c. kirsch and 1\4c. leftover cherry juice to brush onto the cake. It was potent enough.-Set aside 12 whole cherries for decoration and chop the rest for the filling.-Double the buttercream icing recipe to ice the layers, top & sides of the cake, and also reserve about 1c. of icing to use as rosettes later. (If you don't have an icing pipe, simply put icing in a plastic baggie and snip one of the corners. Press the icing out.) Press out 12 icing rosettes and use them as a base on which to put the 12 reserved whole bing cherries. It looks really pretty! Delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Overall a very good recipe, but the icing need a lot more fluid than the recipe indicates and it might work better with chopped cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. Black Forest cake has been the traditional birthday cake in his birthday, but always purchased from the supermarket bakery. I was feeling competitive, and I chose this recipe, and I followed it almost exactly. The only change I made was to add 2 Tablespoons of Nonfat Dry Milk to the whipped cream before I whipped it. This stabilized the cream so that it didn't collapse during the week it took us to finish it up. This cake is great. The chocolate cake scared me at first, because it seemed so dry and and unflavored, but the sprinkling of kirsch made it moist and awakened the chocolate flavor. The reviewers who say that this cake gets better over time are correct! I didn't have "canned bing cherries" I had to choose canned "cherrries jubilee" over canned cherry pie filling. OH HE LOVED IT SOO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I've tried this recipe 2 times. It turned out pretty tasty but the cake itself was too dry both times. I haven't baked much before, but I took a friend's suggestion and added a tablespoon of oil to the batter and placed a bowl of water in the oven while the cake was baking. It didn't seem to help to make the cake more moist. A delicious cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I live in Germany, and this is one American recipe that I must admit is nearly dead on. However in the Black Forest fresh cherries are used which have soaked overnight in the Kirschwasser (Cherry Water around 40+%). My husband always says that if it is made correctly the room will spend when you stand up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This was an easy recipie to follow. I made this cake for the guys in my office. They all loved it. They want me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I used a generic cherry brandy and the cake tasted way too alcoholic...not good...do not try this...the cake was barely eaten. Also I had to really tweak the frosting to give it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
A long run for a short slide. I only used about half the kirschwasser called for and it was still way too strong, while the whipped cream frosting didn't have much flavor to it at all. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Marvelous cake recipe; my family inhaled it! I halved the amount of buttercream and still had enough to give the cake a wonderful punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States