Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Loved this recipe! My neighbor gave me a great tip. Instead of cutting the cakes with a knife, use a piece of regular sewing string and wrap it around the center of the cake, pull it through and viola! You've cut your cake with no crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
914 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Fabulous. The best black forest cake recipe I've tried, and I've tried a lot. The cake baked up beautifully, the cherries were perfect, and the whole thing just came together wonderfully. The only change I made (and I heartily recommend it)is that I made a syrup out of 1/2 cup reserved cherry juice, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup Kirsch (cherry liqueur - added after the juice/sugar simmered for a bit and then cooled). I drizzled this syrup over the cake sections before I spread the cherries and whipped cream on. It added moisture and tied everything together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A lovely cake! It took me 3 hours from start to finish, though I also did a few kitchen chores between steps. The cake part itself makes a very nice chocolate cake that I will probably use for other cakes. Mine was not dry, in fact it was very moist in the center. It had a somewhat crusty top that reminded me very much of brownies. In response to a previous review,I used 2 cans of tart pie cherries (Oregon brand) that were 14.5 ozs. each. The can said that the actual wt. of the cherries was 11.5 ozs. each, so it was close to 20 altogether, and to me it seemed the perfect amount. It seems very involved, and I suppose it is moreso than opening up a mix and a can of frosting, but it just takes more time and the effort is worth it. With the crumbs on the sides (and I also added a dusting of crumb to the top) it is a very forgiving cake for those who have trouble frosting neatly. I agree with the reviewer who suggested starting the cherries first. It took me almost the entire baking time to cook the cherries, and I cooled them in the refrigerator while the cake cooled. But they were still a little warm when I started to put it all together. Had my kitchen been warm today, that might have been a problem. Thank you for a great recipe. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
Tasty! I've never seen cans of sour cherries (only available in the USA?) so I used a can of cherry pie filling. This cake won't dry out before it gets eaten. Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
This cake is absolutely delicious! I took the advice of making the cherry filling before making the cake part, and it had plenty time to cool down. I followed the recipe as is, and was very happy with the results - as was everyone else who ate it! I would suggest that if possible, try making this cake 1 day before you plan on serving it - there's no comparison on how much better it tastes. At minimum, try to make it the morning of the day you want to serve it. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misserin13
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this recipe for my boyfriend's birthday at his request. I modified it gently into cupcake format because I have a cupcake fetish. The cake was delicious, the cherry topping and whipped cream spectacular. My only adjustment to the recipe itself was adding an egg - a nod to the cupcakes - but I was very pleasantly surprised by this cake and found it pretty easy to make. For my purposes, I had a lot of leftover cherry topping and whipped cream - I ended up making a parfait with the cupcake tops. This cake does rise pretty well - if you're thinking about going the way of cupcakes, I would make sure to fill the cups barely 1/2 with mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Good one. I used the fourth layer too to give cake a taller look. I also used cocktail cherries only and no sugar syrup. Decorated with shaved chocolate on whipped cream looked gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This cake is wonderful!! I wondered about the batter as it was quite thick but it came out great. It didn't take as long to bake as the directions said. I did use canned cherry filling instead of the homemade and in place of the whipped cream I used the recipe for French buttercream Frosting. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This was an excellent cake and went over so well that I had demands for several more. I made two for a large party and they were both gone in about 15 minutes. The only thing I would add would be a thin layer of chocolate syrup between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I was feeling lazy so I used Duncan Heinz Dark Chocolate Fudge cake, and it was very tasty. I used another reviewer's suggestion and brushed the layers with the sugar/cherry juice/kirsch mixture. The cake was already pretty moist, so while that tasted good, it needs to be used sparingly on a cake mix cake. I also stabilized the whipped cream by adding unflavored gelatin (directions below) since I was taking it to a party and I needed the whipped cream to hold up and not get droopy. Everyone loved it. Next time I will reduce the sugar a little and use the dark sweet cherries instead to see if I like that better! (To stabilize 2 cups of whipping cream, dissolve 1 tsp. unflavored gelatin in 2 Tbsp. cold water and let sit 5 minutes. Heat over simmering water just until gelatin dissolves; cool slightly. In bowl whip cream and confectioner's sugar just to soft peaks. Add dissolved gelatin and whip just a little more until stiffer peaks form. This will help the whipped cream hold its shape for a day or two, and it doesn't make it rubbery.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States