Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is not a traditional German schwarzwaltenkirschtorte...or black forrest cherry cake...I was disappointed in the turn out because I found a German recipe finally and it should be rum soaked dark cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Amazing! Tastes even better after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Made for my husbands birthday. I did make a syrup of kirsch and the juice from the cherries (boil down) to brush on the layers. I will use chocolate shavings on the side next time instead of crumbs and also "sprinkle" the finished cake with them for a professional look. Very good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everything came out fine, tasted alright. The cherry topping and the whipped topping where good. The only problem was cake itself. It was very dry. I even took one pan out before it was done, to prevent that. Also I think the cherry topping needs to sit for a very long time, or maybe some flour needs to be added to it, because it didn't thicken properly, so it would slide off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WONDERFUL, Excellent cake. I didn't change a thing except, 1 cup heavy cream I made it chocolate for the decorating on top,(recipe on this web site, very good) YUMMY... Thanks, for a really great recipe my whole family loved it will definatly make again, soon very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J's Oven
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was use grounded up Oreo biscuits with their cream fillings removed to decorate the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Fabulous and showy - always impresses. The first time I made this, I couldn't find sour cherries and used pie filling - was very good. Second time, I used some frozen sour cherries, and they made all of the difference. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I am really not a fan of cake mixes--too light and insubstantial. This cake was wonderfully rich and just dense enough. The whole recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
this review is for the chocolate cake layers only, as I did something different with the cherries and whipped cream. I thought that they turned out a little dry - and I only baked them for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
A couple classmates and I made this cake for class the day we presented our project on Germany. Everyone loved it! My favorite part about making this cake was keeping the crumbs that came off when cutting the cake in half; and a little of the cherry and whipped cream. It was nice to have a taste of cake without having to cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States