Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I am really not a fan of cake mixes--too light and insubstantial. This cake was wonderfully rich and just dense enough. The whole recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
this review is for the chocolate cake layers only, as I did something different with the cherries and whipped cream. I thought that they turned out a little dry - and I only baked them for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
A couple classmates and I made this cake for class the day we presented our project on Germany. Everyone loved it! My favorite part about making this cake was keeping the crumbs that came off when cutting the cake in half; and a little of the cherry and whipped cream. It was nice to have a taste of cake without having to cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my son's birthday. It did take a few hours to put together but everyone loved it! The cake looked beautiful. Here are my thoughts after making it: 1. Start cooking the cherries first. They will take a good 30-40 minutes to thicken and then you need to cool them. I did this in the fridge for another 30 minutes. 2. Bottom of the cake was a bit overcooked. I baked the cakes for 36 minutes. Next time, I will pull them out 32 minutes. 3. Whipped topping was not quite sweet enough for my taste. Next time, I will add just a tad bit more confectioners sugar. 4. I liked the crumbled cake on the sides of the cake. But, next time, I will use shaved chocolate with a vegetable peeler. 5. Do put your cake together several hours before you need to serve it and refrigerate it. I finished with mine around 11am and served it at 7:30pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
It's amazing.....I prepared it and it was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great cake I will never buy a black forest cake at the bakery again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This cake was excellent! When I read the instructions I was nervous that the layers would be messy and wouldn't look good, but I followed the advice of others and made this in advance and everything turned out beautifully. I baked the cake and cooked the cherries Friday morning and set them in the refrigerator to chill. I whipped the cream and assembled the cake Saturday morning, then let it chill all day until my dinner Saturday night. Everybody loved it! I used one 16 oz bag of frozen cherries because I didn't find canned tart cherries, and i used all 4 layers of cake and put sliced almonds on the outside of the cake to decorate- I would definitely recommend this as it gave the cake a nice crunch and was very fancy looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I love this recipe. I am not a baker at all, but when my boyfriend's birthday came up i decided that I'd try this. He is from Nepal and he hasn't had a black forest cake for over 4 yrs. We can't get these where we live either. Although it doesn't taste the same as one from Nepal, it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
My boyfriend and I started to make the cake. We followed all the directions only to have it implode when we tried to put the whipped cream on top of the cake. Everything became a large, crumbly mess. It did not look like the picture whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocha
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
little bit too sweet ,but overall is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocha
Home Town: Changsha, Hunan Province, China
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States