Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kathryn Soward Zambrana
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This cake was as awesome as the recipe says. Easy to make and super delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The cake was dry, even when I did as suggested and allow the cherries and whipping cream to soak in for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I make the birthday cakes for my office. I made this cake for the boss's 65th & he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Made as is, and it was amazing. I layered my cake the night before and the cake held up well. It was delicious and dense and I would definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is my favorite black forest cake recipe. I have made it multiple times. It it a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend's parents for Christmas, and they thoroughly enjoyed it. I did at more chocolate and just a little bit more oil to make the cake richer. I feel that it could have been better than it turned out, but perhaps that can be accounted to my novice baking skills. It's appearance is impressive, and it's also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this cake today for christmas eve dinner tomorrow and stuck it in the refrigerator. When I checked on it later, it had fallen apart, cherries and cream all over the refrigerator. Don't know what I did wrong, I even used gelatin in the whipped cream to firm it up. The cake looks delicious in the pictures, sorry but I won't be trying this one again, too much effort. I don't have the skill to make a cake this nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First off, I thought the cake recipe called for way too much sugar! I put in half (1 cup) of sugar and the cake was still delicious. Also, instead of making the cherry filling, I used 1 can of cherry pie filling. It was just enough for the top and the middle of the cake. I also used 2 8" cake pans instead of the 9" and the cake was perfect. I also would cut the heavy whipping cream and confectioner's sugar in half especially if you were to make the 8" verses the 9" cake. I had a lot of whipped cream left over even going around the cake twice on the bottom and around the top. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This cake is Awesome I have been making this for my daughter's Birthday for the past couple years at her request I get compliments every time.. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was a very good recipe, but I would recommend skipping the 1/8 cup for flour and use only 2 cups if using all purpose flour. I got rave reviews when I make this recipe for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States