Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this cake for a birthday. I liked that it didn't use canned pie filling or a boxed cake mix. The cake actually has a nice chocolaty taste. The cherries at the store only come in 14.5 oz cans so I went with that size. When I was bringing them to a boil they appeared to have a dark peach/pink color but not red. So, I added a few drops of red food coloring and it worked perfect. I was worried about the whipped cream not holding up the next day on the piped part, so I made a recipe of stablized whipped cream from this site for the piping part. I do suggest using a smaller tip for the bottom piping, then the top, although the recipe does not mention that. The cake may be transported so I used a round cardboard to decorate the cake on, on a cake stand. I thought the final cake looked very attractive. I hope everyone enjoys it tommorrow! Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by cbriggs45
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
i made this for me and my parents. i found out the day before i was making it i didnt have 9 inch round pans.. i used a 101/4 spring form the cooking time was extended but the cherry filling i could have just had that the cake was a bit wonky main due to the pan but i sent the left overs to my brother they all gobbled it up i would and will make this again i loved the process it was easy and made for a great time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbriggs45

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2drinkchai
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the cake exactly as it said in the recipe and it turned out beautifully! Chocolate cake was delicious. I bought sour pitted cherries from a European food market, and I will NEVER buy canned cherry pie filling again! I put the 4th layer aside to dry for a bit then crumbed it in the food processor. I made the cake the day before with a crumb coat of whipped cream and set it in the fridge overnight. On serving day I finished up the sides, and decorated the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2drinkchai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I did make a couple modifications that added to the chocolate flavor of the cake. I dissolved a Tbsp of instant coffee in a Tbsp of hot water and I added that to the milk. I also added two grated squares of bakers semi-sweet chocolate to the mix. The chocolate flavour of the cake was nice and rich. I decorated the cake with cherries, grated chocolate, hand piped chocolate leaves, and whip cream that was stabilized with gelatin. I did end up using canned cherry pie fill as I could not find sour cheries. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetn_low

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PB&J
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I 've made this cake several times and get rave reviews on it. It is a little time consuming,but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The cherrys are amazing! I loved them. I had to add a little more sugar to the whipped cream, just do to personal preference. The cake however, was terrible. I only baked it 25 minutes at 350 and it was so dry. I usually add sour cream to any cake I bake but not this time. Big mistake! A boxed cake would have been better than this one...and I may actually use that in place next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAYEE
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very yummy cake, I actually used chocolate milk instead of white milk. Didn't seem to make a difference. Everyone enjoyed the cake. I didn't use the pitted sour cherries. I just used the canned cherry filling and that worked out perfectly. The taste was perfect. I just over baked the cake. Definitely using this recipe again, everyone enjoyed it and loved the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brittneyart
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very delicous cake! I used cherries in a jar and it turned out beautifully. I would recommend this cake to anyone who likes black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittneyart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by saunie
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a fabulous cake recipe. Great texture and flavor. I baked mine in a heart-shape pan with butter cream icing and cherries between layers. frosted the outside with dark choc. icing and topped with cherries nestled in a piped heart shape on top. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thejoyces10
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for mine and my husbands 1st wedding anniversary and it turned out amazing!!! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States