Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this for a friends OctoberFest party, what a hit will make this again, luckily I had my daughter to help decorate (she had taken a cake decorating course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Three things I didn't like about this cake. 1) The cake mix was nothing special (it's basically no better than store bought) and ended up being dry. I had to cut off the outside of the cake because it was crispy. 2) The cherry glaze made from the cherry liquid with cornstarch and 1 cup of sugar was WAY too sweet and had an awful grainy texture from the cornstarch. I do not recommend using any cornstarch at all, just reduce the liquid slowly over the stove. It takes longer but the result is much better. 3) It's very plain. Basic chocolate cake mix, whipped cream, and canned cherry flavor... that's all it is. If I'm spending the time to make a cake from scratch, I want it to be special in some way. This could've been store bought cake. There are much better black forest cake recipes out there. I tried this one because it was less complicated and time consuming, but I realize now that that's what made the other recipe worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I used the cake part of this recipe and the whipped cream part. The cake part is very easy to make, hence why I chose it. However I left out the cherry part as it doesn't seem very authentic. Instead I just use can/jar sour cherries just by itself in every layer. I use some of the light syrup the cherries come in, add a bit of sugar and kirshwasser to it and moisten each layer of the cake with it. The fact this recipe doesn't have kirshwasser mean it is NOT the original. Still the cake recipe is awesome, takes like 10 minutes to whip up and into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this for my son for his 26th birthday and he loved it! I made 3 layers with 9 inch pans. And they were done in about 15-17 minutes. I wasn't fond of the idea of crumbling cake to decorate with, that didn't sound pretty at all. Instead I made chocolate curls using a vegetable peeler and a King Size Hershey bar (it's wider than a reg. size bar). I found "Tart" canned cherries at Walmart. The cans were smaller than 20 oz. but 2 cans made plenty. It's not a cheap cake to make, nor was it quick to make, but for a special occasion, this is worth it. Make it all from scratch, don't cheat on any of it, otherwise, what's the point of making a cake from a recipe? Note: the filling does take a while to thicken! And you need to heat it a little more towards a med. temp., not on low temp. as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made as directed with only once exception. Added 2 shots of espresso + milk to = 1 Cup. Simple and delicious. Followed suggestions of others and made the cherry filling first and let it cool while I baked the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this one and the Salisbury my family love it!And they are so picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evangelina Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This cake was absolutely delicious and very simple to make. Follow the recipe carefully and you end up with a dessert everyone will be raving about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenneatta Jasper
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This cake was wonderful and a big hit at my job. I added Cherry brandy to the cherry sauce and also brushed the Cherry brandy soak in to the cake, which added a delicious flavor to the cake. The only change I'll make is probably use a buttercream frosting for the outside frosting on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneatta Jasper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I'm a senior and self taught baker. I always wanted to try a black forest cake, but all the recipes I read were to cumbersome. So, I tried this black forest cake recipe, I Loved it!! The only thing I have changed, I used fine chopped dark chocolate instead of the crumbled cake to the frosting. Turned out perfect and tasted wonderful. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernst Humer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The only thing I changed was self raising flour and two tablespoon of mayo. This made each layer much larger and easier to cut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States