Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Exceptional cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMuse
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was a fun build... Followed recipe exactly and wow, absolutely spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Paynter
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this cake for my Mom for her birthday, as it is her favorite. for the Cherries, i got 2 jars of sour cherries and started them long before i started the cake,I also used shaved chocolate on the sides the cake did cook faster than the recommended 35 min, while it does take hours to make this cake(while mutitasking) this is one of the best cakes i have ever eaten in my life, even my step father who is not a big cake fan had FOUR pieces. They are coming over again this weekend and want me to make this cake again but i think i might try raspberries for the topping... thank you so much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Paynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this for a friends OctoberFest party, what a hit will make this again, luckily I had my daughter to help decorate (she had taken a cake decorating course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Three things I didn't like about this cake. 1) The cake mix was nothing special (it's basically no better than store bought) and ended up being dry. I had to cut off the outside of the cake because it was crispy. 2) The cherry glaze made from the cherry liquid with cornstarch and 1 cup of sugar was WAY too sweet and had an awful grainy texture from the cornstarch. I do not recommend using any cornstarch at all, just reduce the liquid slowly over the stove. It takes longer but the result is much better. 3) It's very plain. Basic chocolate cake mix, whipped cream, and canned cherry flavor... that's all it is. If I'm spending the time to make a cake from scratch, I want it to be special in some way. This could've been store bought cake. There are much better black forest cake recipes out there. I tried this one because it was less complicated and time consuming, but I realize now that that's what made the other recipe worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I used the cake part of this recipe and the whipped cream part. The cake part is very easy to make, hence why I chose it. However I left out the cherry part as it doesn't seem very authentic. Instead I just use can/jar sour cherries just by itself in every layer. I use some of the light syrup the cherries come in, add a bit of sugar and kirshwasser to it and moisten each layer of the cake with it. The fact this recipe doesn't have kirshwasser mean it is NOT the original. Still the cake recipe is awesome, takes like 10 minutes to whip up and into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this for my son for his 26th birthday and he loved it! I made 3 layers with 9 inch pans. And they were done in about 15-17 minutes. I wasn't fond of the idea of crumbling cake to decorate with, that didn't sound pretty at all. Instead I made chocolate curls using a vegetable peeler and a King Size Hershey bar (it's wider than a reg. size bar). I found "Tart" canned cherries at Walmart. The cans were smaller than 20 oz. but 2 cans made plenty. It's not a cheap cake to make, nor was it quick to make, but for a special occasion, this is worth it. Make it all from scratch, don't cheat on any of it, otherwise, what's the point of making a cake from a recipe? Note: the filling does take a while to thicken! And you need to heat it a little more towards a med. temp., not on low temp. as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made as directed with only once exception. Added 2 shots of espresso + milk to = 1 Cup. Simple and delicious. Followed suggestions of others and made the cherry filling first and let it cool while I baked the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this one and the Salisbury my family love it!And they are so picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evangelina Ramirez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This cake was absolutely delicious and very simple to make. Follow the recipe carefully and you end up with a dessert everyone will be raving about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States