Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The only thing I changed was self raising flour and two tablespoon of mayo. This made each layer much larger and easier to cut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was a super easy cake to make and the results were amazing! I used homemade canned cherries soaked in brandy overnight and that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have made it. incredible. How delicious . Thanks for such amazing recipe :) all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this recipe for my daughter's birthday last night. I followed the instructions on decorating from the video. This was superb and everyone was totally impressed! Only made a few changes. Didn't have two 9" round pans so I used three 8" round pans instead and because the cakes were thinner as a result, I only took a little bit off each to get the necessary crumbs for decorating the sides. In the batter, I used 1/2 cup coffee and 1/2 cup of milk instead of only milk because I had coffee left from the morning. One other change I'd make next time is thicken the cherry juice with the cornstarch before putting in the drained cherries so they would not break up as I stirred and thickened the mixture. Tasted just great but would have looked better. Definitely a make again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe to the 2 and made a delicious cake for my boyfriend's birthday. Read all the reviews as well and found some good tips like making the filling/topping first, baking it a day before you plan to serve it and cutting the cake with thread instead of a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it! I made this recipe with my own gluten free flour blend and my own sour cherry preserves made with honey... it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this for Christmas Eve..everyone raved...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I found this cake to be very moist and wonderful! Had just a bit of trouble with the cherries but raising the heat helped. My husband doesn't like chocolate cake and adored this one! WILL SO MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I haven't been able to find sour cherries ( in Canada) and so haven't tried this yet. I am hoping that the sour cherries will be a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling used in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Pretty sure this was the one I made the first time, better than Black Forest cake II. I just added the kirsch as arcticwoman suggested and used Choc curls instead of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States