Black Eyed Susan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I'm looking forward to making this salad with black-eyed peas/beans. I make a standard bean salad that is almost identical to this one. Kernel corn really dresses up the salad in addition to the red pimentos - yummy AND pretty. Instead of worchestershire sauce, I add a 'shot' of balsamic vinegar and give the salad some zing with finely sliced/chopped red onion that I soak first in cold water and then squeeze out liquid. This technique is great for sweeting the red onion. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great stuff! I used a little less corn (not much of a corn fan, but it's a beautiful contrast), omitted the optional celery (ICK) and substituted fresh green onions from my garden. You can't get much better than this for a side dish! A little spicy - but that's the way I like it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yummy!!! This was really good! I didn't have pimento peppers - the jar in the store was more than I would ever use so I used a small jar of rosted red peppers and that tasted really good.. excellent recipe - will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This recipe is great. It's not heavy or too spicey. I'd like to try it with Balsamic vinegar instead of Apple Cidar vinegar. I have already passed this on to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Yummy. Made it exactly as written except I left out the pimentos (yuk) and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my new favorite summer side dish! I made it to go with barbecue and it was a big hit. I used 2 cans of black eyed peas, and substituted roasted red peppers for pimentos, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I have made black eyed pea salads in the past that had a lot more ingredients and weren't nearly as tasty as this one. I can't wait to give this one a try in the summer when I can use leftover corn on the cob in place of frozen corn. The dressing definitely MUST sit for several hours, I tasted it two hours after making it and feared for the worst. After four hours, it tasted delicious and gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by everydayisnew
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this for a Christmas potluck, so replaced the red pimento with one red and one green pepper, chopped. It was a bit too sweet for my liking, so I increased the Worcestershire sauce, added about a tablespoon of salt (used a clove of fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt), ground lots of black pepper and added half a teaspoon of crushed red chillies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Everyone in the family loved it, except my husband. Even my vegetable hating daughter. Didn't change a thing. Well definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Was very good. I used a 12 oz. bag of frozen mixed veggies, steamed (corn, carrots & asparagus). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States