Black Eyed Susan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This recipe is great. It's not heavy or too spicey. I'd like to try it with Balsamic vinegar instead of Apple Cidar vinegar. I have already passed this on to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my new favorite summer side dish! I made it to go with barbecue and it was a big hit. I used 2 cans of black eyed peas, and substituted roasted red peppers for pimentos, otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yummy!!! This was really good! I didn't have pimento peppers - the jar in the store was more than I would ever use so I used a small jar of rosted red peppers and that tasted really good.. excellent recipe - will be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Yummy. Made it exactly as written except I left out the pimentos (yuk) and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I have made black eyed pea salads in the past that had a lot more ingredients and weren't nearly as tasty as this one. I can't wait to give this one a try in the summer when I can use leftover corn on the cob in place of frozen corn. The dressing definitely MUST sit for several hours, I tasted it two hours after making it and feared for the worst. After four hours, it tasted delicious and gets better as it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I'm looking forward to making this salad with black-eyed peas/beans. I make a standard bean salad that is almost identical to this one. Kernel corn really dresses up the salad in addition to the red pimentos - yummy AND pretty. Instead of worchestershire sauce, I add a 'shot' of balsamic vinegar and give the salad some zing with finely sliced/chopped red onion that I soak first in cold water and then squeeze out liquid. This technique is great for sweeting the red onion. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great stuff! I used a little less corn (not much of a corn fan, but it's a beautiful contrast), omitted the optional celery (ICK) and substituted fresh green onions from my garden. You can't get much better than this for a side dish! A little spicy - but that's the way I like it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Everyone in the family loved it, except my husband. Even my vegetable hating daughter. Didn't change a thing. Well definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Was very good. I used a 12 oz. bag of frozen mixed veggies, steamed (corn, carrots & asparagus). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by everydayisnew
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I made this for a Christmas potluck, so replaced the red pimento with one red and one green pepper, chopped. It was a bit too sweet for my liking, so I increased the Worcestershire sauce, added about a tablespoon of salt (used a clove of fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt), ground lots of black pepper and added half a teaspoon of crushed red chillies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States