Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was crazy good. I used ham hocks instead of necks, and added andouille sausage to it with the kale. I did not have the canned tomatoes with peppers, so used fresh chopped tomatoes and some ground dried chiles. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Made this today and it was absolutely delicious. Didn't have Kale, so I used a half bag of collard greens that I had left over from another dish - guess any greens will do. I'm giving a lot to friends so they can see how good black-eyed peas and pork neck bones taste. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this soup several times . We love it. I ran out of time today, so I made this soup in my pressure cooker. I cooked the bacon and veggies right on the stove top in the pressure cooker. Then I added the soaked beans, spices, ham, diced tomatoes, spices and water just before I closed the lid. Easy prep. I brought the soup up to pressure and cooked for 10 minutes, took it off and let it set until the pressure cooker had depressurized: another 10 to 15 minutes. I added the kale immediately after opening the cooker and 10 minutes later we were eating soup. For those of you who have never tried pressure cooking, it ROCKS! The flavor of the soup was even better this time, and the unexpected company raved over it. Their 13 year old had two bowlfuls. By the way, I used Farmlands spiral ham and pieces instead of ham steaks. It's cheaper and has a much richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! Couldn't get any pork neck bones, so I substituted ham hocks instead. Next time I'll skip the bacon, increase the ham, and use ham hocks again, because their smoky flavor adds so much to this dish. Also used my slow cooker--two hours on high, then about five hours on low, adding the ham and kale during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Since I am allergic to cayenne, I used Penzey's Aleppo Pepper instead. I also doubled the amount of onion the recipe calls for, and sautéed the onion/celery/carrots before adding them to the slow cooker, in order to control the amount of liquid that the onions throw off. I can see this being my family's New Years Day dish for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
WOW! Chef John, you've done it again. This is a fantastic recipe. Made it a few days ago as written except I used a half pound more neck bones than called for and increased garlic. The nutrients of almost every ingredient is off the charts and the combined flavors amazing. DO TRY to use the pork neck bones if you can. Simmered with the beans, etc provides a richness and the bits of meat taken off the bones and returned to the pot is delectable. We ate it alone and also with rice. I made so much, I will freeze some and hope that's okay. Chef John, your recipes are all so reliable, uncomplicated and delicious. Keep 'em comming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Fabulous! Seasonings are perfect! Used ham hocks and made this for the second time tonite. Everyone just loved it. Will continue to make it often. Makes wonderful leftovers that only get more flavorful throughout the week. Great to heat up at lunch time. I also find the rice unnecessary, although it's fine if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The whole family says this recipe is a "Keeper". It was EXCELLENT!!! My entire family loved it - even my picky girls! Spice was perfect, flavors melded nicely. Amazing the second day too! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this delicious dish for a New Years Day gathering at my house. It was a big hit! I got comments such as: "These are very classy black eyed peas." "These were the best black eyed peas that I have even eaten." Of course, I shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Soo good. I love greens and am always looking for different ways to fix them. This had a lot of flavor and the chiles were not too hot. Used ham hocks because necks weren't available. Also used canned beans, so reduced the amount of water and the cooking time. I'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and it was great! I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't measure the vegetables exactly). The only change I made was adding a green pepper, since my diced tomatoes didn't have green chiles in them. I had never used neck bones before, but they gave the dish a richness and also had a surprising amount of meat on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarl_Cabot_2k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States