Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
WOW! Chef John, you've done it again. This is a fantastic recipe. Made it a few days ago as written except I used a half pound more neck bones than called for and increased garlic. The nutrients of almost every ingredient is off the charts and the combined flavors amazing. DO TRY to use the pork neck bones if you can. Simmered with the beans, etc provides a richness and the bits of meat taken off the bones and returned to the pot is delectable. We ate it alone and also with rice. I made so much, I will freeze some and hope that's okay. Chef John, your recipes are all so reliable, uncomplicated and delicious. Keep 'em comming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Fabulous! Seasonings are perfect! Used ham hocks and made this for the second time tonite. Everyone just loved it. Will continue to make it often. Makes wonderful leftovers that only get more flavorful throughout the week. Great to heat up at lunch time. I also find the rice unnecessary, although it's fine if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Wonderful flavors did not have any neck bones so used a smoked ham hock which I cooked for about two hours (or until falling off the bone). Took the meat off and used the water from the ham hocks and added the peas.When I sauteed the bacon I used the bacon grease to soften all the vegetables (onion,celery, carrot and garlic). Followed the recipe as written, for all other steps Everything went into the slow cooker for 8 hours . Cooking it again for a large group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The whole family says this recipe is a "Keeper". It was EXCELLENT!!! My entire family loved it - even my picky girls! Spice was perfect, flavors melded nicely. Amazing the second day too! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Very tasty! I used mustard greens. I think it doesn't matter which greens, they will all taste good. I also had to use canned black eyed peas because I waited until DEC 31 and the dry were all gone! Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This tasted way better than I expected, but also did some tweaking. I didn't want to wait on the beans over night so I prepped them in the pressure cooker. This greatly saved my cooking time since I didn't need all those simmering times. My family was grossed out by the thought of pigs feet or necks, so I substituted 1/3lb of pork sausage instead. I followed the rest per directions. We all actually enjoyed it quite well though. The recipe as written is quite labor some, so I'm glad I prepped the beans to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this delicious dish for a New Years Day gathering at my house. It was a big hit! I got comments such as: "These are very classy black eyed peas." "These were the best black eyed peas that I have even eaten." Of course, I shared the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We made this for New Years Day and it was delicious!! Used ham hocks instead of neck bones but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good! Happy new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great flavor, cayenne pepper overpowered the recipe. I would recommend not adding cayenne. I added a total of 2 cups diced carrots,12oz smoked ham & 10oz of kale. It was delicious.-Kris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! Couldn't get any pork neck bones, so I substituted ham hocks instead. Next time I'll skip the bacon, increase the ham, and use ham hocks again, because their smoky flavor adds so much to this dish. Also used my slow cooker--two hours on high, then about five hours on low, adding the ham and kale during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Since I am allergic to cayenne, I used Penzey's Aleppo Pepper instead. I also doubled the amount of onion the recipe calls for, and sautéed the onion/celery/carrots before adding them to the slow cooker, in order to control the amount of liquid that the onions throw off. I can see this being my family's New Years Day dish for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States