Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious recipe once again! I always go to Chef John first and foremost when looking for a recipe. He hasn't let me down yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Braga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Sooooo good. I did make some changes due to what I had on hand... No pork necks, so I boiled the bone from the Easter ham and added 2 drops of liquid smoke. No canned tomatoes with green chilies, so I used diced fresh tomatoes and added red pepper flakes. Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good! Nothing great, but it was hearty and full of healthy goods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Hearty, flavorful peas! It had some heat to it, but we added some Tapatio when it was finished. I used cajun spice mix, thyme, cumin and bay leaf. Great winter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I had to change a bunch of stuff because I did not have all the ingredients, but the spices were great together! Added the bacon at the end, it was terrific! Thanks for the guide ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
A friend has made this recipe before and I thought it was delicious so I was planning on using this recipe for New Years for my family. Only change I had planned was I wanted to use my big ham bone leftover from Christmas. So I started out browning the ham- and then it hit me- I had a honey baked ham and adding green chiles and cayenne didn't sound so appealing to the sweetness of honey and clove. So I followed everything in your recipe until the spices- then I only added cinnamon and a bay leaf. I used Chicken broth instead of water, and diced tomatoes with garlic rather than the green chilies. It turned out SO GOOD. The kids went back for seconds and I brought left overs into work the next day and everyone really enjoyed it. Total comfort food! Thanks for the great recipe- Paula
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this vegetarian just by leaving out the meats. Used butter and olive oil to sauté veggies at the start. Plenty of good flavor here. First really useful BEP recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've made this soup several times . We love it. I ran out of time today, so I made this soup in my pressure cooker. I cooked the bacon and veggies right on the stove top in the pressure cooker. Then I added the soaked beans, spices, ham, diced tomatoes, spices and water just before I closed the lid. Easy prep. I brought the soup up to pressure and cooked for 10 minutes, took it off and let it set until the pressure cooker had depressurized: another 10 to 15 minutes. I added the kale immediately after opening the cooker and 10 minutes later we were eating soup. For those of you who have never tried pressure cooking, it ROCKS! The flavor of the soup was even better this time, and the unexpected company raved over it. Their 13 year old had two bowlfuls. By the way, I used Farmlands spiral ham and pieces instead of ham steaks. It's cheaper and has a much richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is fantastic. I love love this receipe. My mother in law even likes it and she's an excellent cook, if she approves then you know its the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
i just adored this recipe. i had never had BE peas before, and i was so pleasantly suprised. chef johns recipes never disappoint, and this was no exception. i stuck true to the recipe except doubled the bacon, and added extra cayenne *wink wink* i felt fortunate that i was able to find the smoked pork neck bones, as our store doesn't regularly carry them, so when i saw them i snatched up a bunch and threw them in the freezer. now i can make this delicious dish whenever the mood strikes me. try this recipe, it is brimming with nutrients, its savory, filling, delicious, and relatively cheap to make (although i WAS shocked how pricey the neck bones were). i served this with white rice (a must in imho to acommodate all that delicious "gravy" this recipe produces, crystal hot sauce, chef johns jalapeno cornbread, honey, and butter. thanks again, chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States