Black-Eyed Peas and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is my first review, and I'm happy to report it's a great one! I added a few ingredients, namely a few additional garlic cloves, a small handful of minced ginger, a can of Rotel tomatoes, and some dried basil and oregano. Also, instead of using canned black-eyed peas, I used dried, and pressure cooked them beforehand (took only 10 minutes). Served with avocado slices. What a great way to start out the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This is my husband's favorite vegetarian recipe! We have it once a week. We sometimes add homemade salsa to the mixture in the tortilla for more zing. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I've made this several times now, and we really enjoy it. I do have to tripe the recipe to feed my large family. I also alternate between grilled corn tortillas and whole wheat ones. I also add more garlic than the recipe calls for (we love garlic) and I add a couple drops of liquid smoke seasoning.This is terrific with sour cream and guacamole. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is another favorite in our home. I use a pound of dried black eyed peas, soak them, cook them, and then adjust the recipe accordingly. We each eat 2-4 of these for dinner, then have leftovers for a couple days. (They are even better the next day!) I've made them with & without smoke seasoning. I like them with, but it is great either way. I also choose to use corn tortillas, but again that is just a personal choice. (If you DO use corn tortillas, you need to heat each of them on a very hot skillet before using them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Simple, great recipe. I added an extra clove of garlic and omitted the vegetable stock. I think any stock would make this too liquidy. Serve with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This is a great and very tasty recipe, but I'm not sure how they can claim this serves 4. It was barely enough to fill 3 tortillas. I recommend at least doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was good with scrambled eggs, salsa and cheese, made a breakfast burrito! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I thought this came out really good. However, I added pickled jalapenos instead of fresh, and tripled the recipe to fill 8 tortillas. I also allowed it to "cook down" so that there was virtually no liquid. Distinguishable citrus flavor - tangy and delicious! Serve with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. Tasted great. My picky husband enjoyed it. I omitted the stock (there really isnt a need for it). I added extra cheese. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Not bad! I added chicken and corn to it. I also added a teaspoon of oregano and a few tablespoons of enchilada sauce to give it extra flavor! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States