Black-Eyed Peas and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gcgirl18
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is another simple, tasty, and healthy recipe using black eyed peas. I have to admit that I was never a fan of black-eyed peas. But this recipe made me a believer that they could be quite flavorful. In this recipe, you simmer it in stock, jalapeno, garlic, onion, lime juice, and other seasonings. You can then spoon the mixture into a freshly toasted tortilla. The fresh cilantro topping is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I thought these were a very tasty, healthy, and economical meal. Stock up on black-eyed peas during New Year's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Meh. Despite the massive amount of onion (and extra garlic) I found this to be rather dull and uninteresting. And strange on a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was fabulous and I'll be making it a LOT! I put a bag of dried black eyed peas into the slowcooker with water and cooked on high about 4 hours. Once drained they were ready for this recipe. As per other reviews I added chicken stock and cumin. I also added a jar of my homemade salsa and canned jalapenos. Served with corn tortillas. LOVED this recipe. I can see so many uses for the leftovers - salads, burritos, nachos, etc. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Simple, inexpensive and delicious. i have only tried them with canned beans, but I will try the pressure cooking method with dried beans next time. We really enjoy these as a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
4/5 only because we modified it. We used a tablespoon of salsa and a shake of hot red pepper. This is a healthy and simple recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was a super simple, yet tasty way to use up my extra black-eyed peas. I didn't have any fresh jalapeños so I used a small can of diced green chiles and added cayenne pepper for the heat. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and cumin powder. Really yummy as a warm salsa with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Was pretty good, a nice change for black-eyed peas..I doubled the recipe & it needed a bit more flavor so I added the liquid I'd reserved from the cans of black-eyes peas & a small hamhock (from the pot of collard greens that were also on the stove) & doubled the garlic. Gave my guests & family the choice of eating as a side, a dip or burrito filling. Everyone said that while they were the best they'd had, still nobody was converted to black-eyed pea lovers...Happy new year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because it gave me the jumping off point to make a really good meal. I changed a lot of the recipe but I kept the back bone of it and everything was great. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States