Black-Eyed Peas and Tortillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is another simple, tasty, and healthy recipe using black eyed peas. I have to admit that I was never a fan of black-eyed peas. But this recipe made me a believer that they could be quite flavorful. In this recipe, you simmer it in stock, jalapeno, garlic, onion, lime juice, and other seasonings. You can then spoon the mixture into a freshly toasted tortilla. The fresh cilantro topping is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I thought these were a very tasty, healthy, and economical meal. Stock up on black-eyed peas during New Year's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Meh. Despite the massive amount of onion (and extra garlic) I found this to be rather dull and uninteresting. And strange on a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was fabulous and I'll be making it a LOT! I put a bag of dried black eyed peas into the slowcooker with water and cooked on high about 4 hours. Once drained they were ready for this recipe. As per other reviews I added chicken stock and cumin. I also added a jar of my homemade salsa and canned jalapenos. Served with corn tortillas. LOVED this recipe. I can see so many uses for the leftovers - salads, burritos, nachos, etc. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Simple, inexpensive and delicious. i have only tried them with canned beans, but I will try the pressure cooking method with dried beans next time. We really enjoy these as a light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
4/5 only because we modified it. We used a tablespoon of salsa and a shake of hot red pepper. This is a healthy and simple recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was a super simple, yet tasty way to use up my extra black-eyed peas. I didn't have any fresh jalapeños so I used a small can of diced green chiles and added cayenne pepper for the heat. I also added chopped fresh cilantro and cumin powder. Really yummy as a warm salsa with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Was pretty good, a nice change for black-eyed peas..I doubled the recipe & it needed a bit more flavor so I added the liquid I'd reserved from the cans of black-eyes peas & a small hamhock (from the pot of collard greens that were also on the stove) & doubled the garlic. Gave my guests & family the choice of eating as a side, a dip or burrito filling. Everyone said that while they were the best they'd had, still nobody was converted to black-eyed pea lovers...Happy new year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because it gave me the jumping off point to make a really good meal. I changed a lot of the recipe but I kept the back bone of it and everything was great. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States